Shut Down faster ? Change shut down screen ?
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Shut Down faster ? Change shut down screen ?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    25

    Angry Shut Down faster ? Change shut down screen ?

    Hi Ppl
    My comp , running on Windows 2000 NT , takes a lot of time to shut down.
    Is there anyway I can make my comp to shut down ( and boot faster ) ?
    Another thing, I want to change the usual shut down and boot up screen I see , how to do it ?
    \"I\'d hate to have a kid like me\"

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    247
    How much RAM are you running?
    www.ADigitalPimp.com
    There is a ghost in the machine, and he is my friend.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    25
    I am running on 256 MB , DDR ram I have a separate 64 MB video card and a separate 32 MB sound card .
    \"I\'d hate to have a kid like me\"

  4. #4
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    You'd think something that reboots as much as Windows would have the fastest reboot of any system.

    Anyway, your RAM and prcessor are prolly not the problem. For booting faster, it is possible to get rid of a Windows loading screen, even though I dont remember how as I havnt used Windows is quite some time. Search google or yahoo.com for "Changing the Windows start up screen". Also, for loading up, check to see what you have loading on boot up. alot of programs like to be included when Windows boots up, and they can make you lag badly.

    You may want to try configuring boot up....was msconfig but I'm not sure now, like I said, I don't use it much. MSN, AIM, Winamp, Yahoo, all of those try to load on boot up, so you may want to have them stop doing that to try and help out. Just do some searching for the screen change I told you about already, and also, searching for "Making Windows boot faster" should help you out.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  5. #5
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    you could push the button or pull the plug, those are the fastests shutdowns i've ever seen.
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  6. #6
    1. Open the registry and find the key below.

    2. Modify the value of 'AutoEndTasks' to equal '1' for enabled.

    3. The default time-out before ending the task is defined by the value of 'WaitToKillAppTimeout' located in the same key, this value is in milliseconds (default=20000 i.e. 20 seconds). You can therefore additonally change this value to speed the process up.

    Note: This change will affect all users but value can also be changed on a user basis by modifying [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop] and the same registry key.

    Registry Settings:

    Key: [HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Control Panel\Desktop]
    Value Name: AutoEndTasks
    Data Type: REG_SZ
    Data: (0 = disabled, 1 = enabled)




    this will make ur shytr down a bit faster by shutting programs which r not responding

  7. #7
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi Desolation_Jam

    As suggested, the less stuff you have starting, the less time is taken to close it when you shutdown.

    BUT.............you need to be a little cautious? ..........to prevent data loss from a forced shutdown. Probably not an issue with most stuff but it could be with those that write logs or save data.

    Check out the apps in the system tray right click and close them from within the app..........this will give you an idea of how long they take to naturally close.

    It is a bit like the old problem with large drives that had large caches. As processors got faster they could be shut down before the cache was written to the disks, and you lost data.

    If it is a bad problem I guess you are having contention between some of the proggies that are closing? Try closing one of them manually, then doing a normal shutdown, until you identify the culprits, then just close one manually before running shutdown.

    cheers
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •