Thread: Security indicators

Security indicators

Hi all!
    My name is Alberto and Im new in this forum, but I have three years of experience in IT security.
    Currently Im doing a job about security indicators that help to understand if IT department is doing a good job about security.
    Im looking for numeric indicators like:
    number of hours/man dedicated to review configurations/install patches/search prohibit material in work stations
    Or
    $/years invested in improve security/buy resources (antivirus/firewalls/fingerprint scanners/cameras,and other security stuffs)
    Or
    yearly average of virus incidents
    Or
    Number of unsuccesfull logon events/month
    Do you get the idea?
    The objective is to messure how well the security strategy is going on, and numbers are the best methods to compair.
    I'll appreciate any kind of help!
    Best regards to all of you and excusee mi english

AO Ancient: Team Leader
    What your looking for by the sound of it is an objective way of measuring a subjective issue. The main problem you have is that security is not a "fixed" thing and would be different for every organization.

If you want to formalize the process then you should start with a complete risk assessment and then you have your baseline. One method of risk assessment will give you a numeric baseline from which to begin, (visit here to see a good write-up on how to conduct the a quantitative riskassessment).

From there you can address each issue until you have secured the network. At that point a "rerun" of the risk assessment would provide you with your new baseline and the two can be compared.