Cyber-Cafe Game Issue
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cyber-Cafe Game Issue

  1. #1
    HeadShot Master N1nja Cybr1d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,840

    Cyber-Cafe Game Issue

    As some of you know, I've recently opened up a Cyber-Cafe in Boston. I'm trying to install several games on those computers, but most of those games need the CD to be in the drive to play. Is there a way I could create a copy of the CD as a separate drive? I.E. F:/Warcraft3, G:/StarCraft.


    The games I'm installing are: Halo, Counter-Strike, Warcraft3, Battlefield 1942, Return to Castle of Wolfestein, Call of Duty, Diablo 2.


    Also considering of installing Halo 2, Counter-STrike Condition Zero. Any other games that are popular amongst NetCafes? I've also purchased the expansion sets of these games.


    Thanks for your help and I hope I see some of you dropping by . The location is in Downtown Boston, Right next to the Boston Common. Winter Street, 30 seconds from Macy's.


    Cheers,

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    http://www.farstone.com/home/en/shtml/gamedovview.shtml

    That should be your answer right there.
    =

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    786
    There is an application called "VaporCD" that *might* work. Similar to cheyenne1212's solution except it is opensource, free, and hasn't been updated in 3 years, and does not like CD-Audio (Music Tracks on CDs). At the very least, anyone else who is looking for this sort of free CD-ROM software might be interested in it.

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/vaporcd/

    BTW, I think you need to copy some files into the /WinNT/System32/ directory for it to work since the installer fails to copy them there for some odd reason or another. Then, put a CD in, and use the program to create a .vaporcd file (basically an ISO I'm sure) and you can set it to a drive letter and make it persistant so that next time you reboot you have the CD-ROM drive there. You could delete/restrict the program that manages the drives, since the file in System32 handles everything I think...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1,050
    You could rip the games to an ISO image and mount them on a virtual drive on windows
    You could use Daemon Tools for that
    or if the ISO is smaller than 700mb when you rip it you could burn it to a cd-r Unfortunately i dont know anything that will make an ISO image from a disk i have never needed to so i cant recommend anything and for some games you might need a crack to play them. Other than the above the only other thing i can think of is buying more copies of the games
    By the sacred **** of the sacred psychedelic tibetan yeti ....We\'ll smoke the chinese out
    The 20th century pharoes have the slaves demanding work
    http://muaythaiscotland.com/

  5. #5
    HeadShot Master N1nja Cybr1d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,840
    I've already purchased 5 copies for each game, but I cannot let the users keep inserting disks everytime they wanna play . I'll try out those tools, thank you everyone

  6. #6
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    I would give Alcohol 120% a try.
    http://www.alcohol-software.com/

    This program will tell you what copy protection it is using.
    http://www.cdmediaworld.com/hardware...shtml#ClonyXXL

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •