How do i change this file
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: How do i change this file

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    374

    Question How do i change this file

    Hello All, I am having a bit of trouble trying to send my resume via email.
    I scanned my resume and created a 'Rich Text Document' which is 52.4 MB, this
    is too big and have tried changing it to a 'Wordpad Document' and a 'Text Document'
    and the screen is blank when i click on the files, i can only see my resume in .rtf .
    I need the file to be under 1kb is there a way to do this?, and if so could anyone
    assist me please. Thanks in advance. TidaLphasE23.


    BTW. i am running xp pro

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3,839
    You want a 52.4 MB file converted into a file that is under 1kb. Damn me if anybody knows a way to do that.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    374
    I can compress the .rtf file down to 1.15 MB. My question is, if i scan my resume
    into .txt or .doc there is nothing on the screen. What is the best way to scan my resume and
    keep the file size to a minimum, and actually see it on the screen. Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    you might try to compress it with winrar.. it packs things a bit tighter..

    also, you might upload your file to your own website, then link the file.

    look in the webdevelopment forum section.. jenjen posted a thread about free webhosts.

  5. #5
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi Tidal,

    I am afraid your problem is the scanning bit, which is by its nature, graphics rather than text orientated.

    I take it you want the file to be under 1MB? you will not get it under 1K, as I believe that even a blank .rtf would be bigger than that?

    I think that you are going to have to "bite the bullet" and sit down and re-type it in wordpad or whatever.

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Yeah, if you scanned the resume, thats your problem.

    I'd do as nihil suggested, and face the facts and site down and retype it.

    As nihil said, when you scanned the resume, windows treats it as a graphic file. thus the reason its so big.
    =

  7. #7
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Ok, you have XP Pro, so what I recommend doing, is, if you have the means to do so, get Office XP, and use Word. Word has templates so it doesn't look shitty, and you can use one of those, make it look nice, and then you can save that to a floppy so you can make copies if you ever need to.

    Making it 1 KB without making it look like **** is just not going to work man, sorry heh. I would recommend Office though. If you don't have the money to, or have no way of using it, well, I get wordpad is going to be your best bet. Unless you want to try a free or open source program. But I still don't think 1 KB and making it look nice is going to be possible.

    I do have to agree though, you more than likely will need to re type this information. Trust me, I know this can be a pain in the ass. Which is why I have a .doc of my resume backed up on CD-ROM and on floppy, and on zip drive.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    374
    Thanks all for the responses. Looks like i will be typing it out in wordpad
    to get what i need. Again many thanks to all those who replied.
    Cheers. TidaLphasE23.

  9. #9
    Macht Nicht Aus moxnix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Huson Mt.
    Posts
    1,752
    ?? I must be confused or something.?? What is wrong with cutting and pasting to notepad or wordpad?
    \"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand - strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO - What a Ride!\"
    Author Unknown

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    and obviously the 1kb was a typo.. he did mean one meg.. as in his email attachments allowed for one meg max.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •