Building a simple honeypot in Windows - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Building a simple honeypot in Windows

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Djm

    Ya...i think that would be a great idea. But i don't know whether they would allow me to do that or not. Anyway, thanks for your idea!

    mm....it's that the only option?
    wonder what can i do if the admin doesn't allow me to do so....???

    -dKev-
    -God Bless-
    [dKEV]

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    40
    if you are in a dorm, can't you just have the people in that dorm try to hack it (if theyknow how). They should not have to hack though the campus to reach your box? that is if it is like the campus near me.
    I have 315 relays and 118 switches and have all the power of a calculator.

  3. #13
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    If you need to show it at college, then set it AT college, and YOU attack it from the dorm ? use another lab box to monitor and maybe TX you details ??

    Where there's a will there's a way.
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Sounds like a great learning experience and fun too! Just an important note: If you are going to use the school's network to bang away at your honeypot make doggone sure the IT staff is aware of it in advance. It's their network and they will need to be onboard with this project. If you do not tell them, you might be looking for another college.

    If they say no, borrow a 4-port hub, some cat 5, and a few of your friends computers and make your own lan isolated from the college's network. This might be the way to go anyway, because you can watch and record what your friends attempt to do and also the results of the snort and firewall logs can make for a great paper.

    cheers

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Axeman!

    My frens are good at web/system programming but not in network security.
    So they do not know how to hack. But they know how to scan ip though!!! *LOL*
    And i myself also don't know how to hack(for now).

    I guess it takes TIME to learn how to hack which i'm desperately short of....

    Well, if u know how to hack can you pls guide me?
    It would be very very much appreciated. (I hope the HACKERS are reading this!!) *LOL*

    any hope?

    -[dkev]-
    -God Bless-
    [dKEV]

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    11
    Thanks foxyloxley,

    I think you have quite the same point as Axeman..
    Thanks for your idea!!!

    But i wanted a real time monitor though..
    If they won't allow me then i'll just got to hack my frens PC in my dorm... (

    But i don't know how to hack...

    ???
    -[dkev]-
    -God Bless-
    [dKEV]

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Relyt,

    I've confronted the so-called N/W Security Manager.
    He never heard of Honeypot...mmmmmm.....ok...
    He doesn't seems to like what i'm doing.....afraid that i might mess up his system..etc
    Well, he did ask me to apply for permission...which i'm going to do..

    If approved the i need to publish my IP.....which i don't know how..
    If you know..can you teach me? I heard that by publishing the IP, hackers will come in
    within few hours time...

    ???

    -[dKEV]-
    -God Bless-
    [dKEV]

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    40
    it will only take a couple of minutes beforre some kiddie trys to get in, there oare quite a few programs that will post your IP just google for them. By the way there are many guide that teach hacking _google for them _ somethings I don't teach sorry and good luck on the project.
    I have 315 relays and 118 switches and have all the power of a calculator.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    634
    you probably havent installed the package that needs to be installed before snort...

    think its called Winpcap, theres the link http://winpcap.polito.it

    good luck

    i2c

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Axeman,

    So far i've install Firewall and Snort(1.7).
    But there's this another problem...after i rebooted my PC i type

    http://localhost/Acid/Index.html ....... error: HPPT 404 Not Found...
    I've tried to test whether there's something wrong with my Localhost..
    so i just try to open other html doc using localhost...it doesn't seems to work..

    I think there's something wrong with my localhost or IIS...

    Any idea?

    Blurrrrrrrr ........



    God Bless
    -[dKEV]-
    -God Bless-
    [dKEV]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •