first scan - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: first scan

  1. #11
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    AJBcoolman8,

    Sorry to have to tell you this but AVG is NOT "the sharpest tool in the box"..................it is particularly poor at detecting trojans, particularly if "heuristic scanning" is not switched on.

    I would suggest that you go to the Panda and PCCillin (Trend Microsystems) sites and run their online virus scans (one is Eastern Hemisphere, the other Western).

    Then get SpyBot Search & Destroy and AdAware6................update them both.........boot into safe mode and run them.

    Update AVG manually, and run it again in safe mode

    Good luck

    EDIT: I just c&pasted this from a post I made earlier............it applies to you also:

    Two good tools that don't seem to conflict with anything..........presumably because they are detecting the actual infection process are:

    Registry Prot:

    http://www.diamondcs.com.au

    and WinPatrol:

    http://www.winpatrol.com
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    16
    ok... how do i restart XP in safe mode, im not really sure how to do it

    i updated AVG this morning and i scanned my computer again and i found 9 more

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    407
    to restart XP in safe mode, keep hitting F8 during the time when your computer turns on. it should givve you a list of choices, pick safe mode. then login and scan.


    slick
    \"Look, Doc, I spent last Tuesday watching fibers on my carpet. And the whole time I was watching my carpet, I was worrying that I, I might vomit. And the whole time, I was thinking, \"I\'m a grown man. I should know what goes on my head.\" And the more I thought about it... the more I realized that I should just blow my brains out and end it all. But then I thought, well, if I thought more about blowing my brains out... I start worrying about what that was going to do to my goddamn carpet. Okay, so, ah-he, that was a GOOD day, Doc. And, and I just want you to give me some pills and let me get on with my life. \" -Roy Waller

  4. #14
    The Doctor Und3ertak3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,744
    Yeh and Remember to turn OFF system restore before removing Virii..

    and re-enabling it AFTER a restart..

    AND Install the proggies that nihil mentions..

    as well get the system to MS update..

    be more interesting if you could name the bloody virii you are finding..


    [brag]
    as for records.. 2800 infected files in one machines virii Benjimen (spelling?) - guess what prg these guys were running.. and the share folder had a mish mash of malware..
    oh and our record for parasiteware 285 (without the cookies - I clean that before running adaware or Spybot)
    Hey I had one system last week with 6 varients of blaster
    [/brag]


    lol cheyenne1212

    cheers
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    16
    thanks slick

  6. #16
    AVG dont have good cleaning template. Im using AVG and it detected-deleted once a worm on my system. Yet, I was still doubting, wondering if my system is completely clean. So I checked the trendmirco online scanner http://housecall.trendmicro.com/ and it detected an infected batch file in my system left by the worm. So if I were you i would check it again using trendmicro online scanner. Its for free and would take only a couple of minutes. Take the benefit of the doubt. Trend Micro online scanner is the only online scanner that received a certificate of 100% virus detection and a certificate of 100% effective cleaning template.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    16
    ok, thanks dood

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    16
    that housecall thingy only works on netscape, i have firefox... is there any alternative?

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    407
    i think you misunderstood....is this the error you got?

    HouseCall (for Netscape) installation
    It appears that the required components for HouseCall are not currently installed on your computer.

    To install HouseCall, do the following steps:

    1. download this program ;
    2. run it;
    3. restart your Netscape browser.
    thats be cause, IIRC, all mozilla based browsers identify as netscape. so download the program, it worked for me, and i'm in regular Mozilla.


    slick
    \"Look, Doc, I spent last Tuesday watching fibers on my carpet. And the whole time I was watching my carpet, I was worrying that I, I might vomit. And the whole time, I was thinking, \"I\'m a grown man. I should know what goes on my head.\" And the more I thought about it... the more I realized that I should just blow my brains out and end it all. But then I thought, well, if I thought more about blowing my brains out... I start worrying about what that was going to do to my goddamn carpet. Okay, so, ah-he, that was a GOOD day, Doc. And, and I just want you to give me some pills and let me get on with my life. \" -Roy Waller

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    16
    oh..... ok, thanks again slick

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •