poll::run two firewalls?

View Poll Results: Should the Loonys be allowed to Judge?

Voters
1. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes - Psychopaths are People too!

    0 0%
  • Case by Case - Depends on how Bi-polar the Bi-Polar really is.

    0 0%
  • No Way - Nuts and Squirrels belong in the Park.

    1 100.00%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: poll::run two firewalls?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    43

    poll::run two firewalls?

    Im not new when it comes to computers. But a thread caught my eye...someone had been hacked and was told not to run 2 firewalls at the same time.
    I was wondering if there was some validity to this?
    I currently do run 2 firewalls and a nuke nabber....do you believe that the 2 firewalls conflict with each other or just add an extra layer of security?
    im not running linux and if you have any suggestions to add i would appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Depends on the setup. Certainly running two seperate firewall boxes is a common method of security (the creation of a DMZ) but if you are referring to running two firewalls on the same host at the same time, I would think (especially in the case of windows) that there may be conflicts between applications.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Good Evening

    Well some conflict with eachother and others don't. And of course opinions will vary. Is a well configured single firewall adequate or do you need two? The link below has several discussions on this topic. But I do run two, but in a different config than I believe you are talking about. One on the computer and I use smoothwall on an older box as a router.

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=232041


    cheers

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    43
    That was a very informative link you posted. Thank you
    I myself am running both sygate and zonealarm and havent experienced any problems.

    ** Knock on wood**
    i also have a couple of av's
    as well as spybot,adaware, and cwshredder.
    i beleive untill i have problems i feel secure.
    Thank you for contributing!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    217
    From my experience, when running 2 firewall(firewall software) at the same box, it may conflict. But if we have firewall harware(quite expensive), and another one installed in your pc, this is nothing matter. But I'm not 100% guarentee that this will work, its depend on the type or brand or configuration of your box.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    452
    I'd think if you've got the resources to have one box acting as a firewall, and another as a NIDS, then you've got a decent setup, however, I don't think running two firewalls on one boxs makes as much sense as having one good firewall and rule set.


    --PuRe
    Like this post? Visit PuRe\'s Information Technology Community. We\'ve also got some kick ass Technology Forums. Shop for books and dvds on LiveWebShop.com

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    210
    Quick question; what does *one* software firewall do exactly? Ie; what is its purpose, how does it achieve this?

    Answer that and you'll see that having two is completely pointless, and is a complete waste of resources to boot.

    Oh, and the white people of waco called: they want thier paranoia back

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    159
    It all depends on the Firewall Setup and implementation....

    I guess properly configured single firewall is always more effective than poorly configured dozen of firewalls.... ( Iknow everyone is already aware of it.. so excuse me for it friends )
    ****** Any man who knows all the answers most likely misunderstood the questions *****

  9. #9
    There are software firewalls that dont "go" together. The firewall package form PCCillin will prevent you installing Zone Alarm.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    43
    Originally posted here by Abtronic
    Quick question; what does *one* software firewall do exactly? Ie; what is its purpose, how does it achieve this?

    Answer that and you'll see that having two is completely pointless, and is a complete waste of resources to boot.

    Oh, and the white people of waco called: they want thier paranoia back
    **LOLL**
    yea mabey i do overdo it, and thats just some of the toys in my toybox!!

    i guess when it comes to security, i dont want to chance anything.
    Thanks everyone who contributed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •