Fedora Core + Slackware
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Fedora Core + Slackware

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003

    Fedora Core + Slackware

    So I have Slack for about a week on my laptop. And I decided to put Fedora Core on as well. I did another partition using Partition Magic 8 on my HDD and went ahead and put Fedora on. Problem is, now Slack will give me a kernel panic and freeze [obviously]. My layout is [according to fdisk]:

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 3858 30989353+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda2 3859 7296 27615735 f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda5 3859 5981 17052966 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda6 5982 6503 4192933+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda7 6504 6634 1052226 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hda8 6635 6765 1052226 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hda9 6766 6774 72261 b Win95 FAT32
    /dev/hda10 6775 7296 4192933+ 83 Linux

    On /dev/hda10 is the Slack install, with /dev/hda6 being Fedora. What I'm thinking is that Slack is confused which is its boot partition [used to be /dev/hda8. now it is /dev/hda10] so that's why it freezes. If I mount the Slack partition, is there any file I can alter in order to make it now refer to /dev/hda10 instead of it's older partition?

    And a second quick thing... how can I make Fedora Core not automatically start the X Window system? [for people that have done it in RedHat, your input is appreciated since it is probably the same thing].

    Thanx for everybody's time!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004


    I am not a good user of linux, but I think of you make sperate boot partitions for each and configure your booting program like grub.conf. I think its may be run!
    Hello Dear..

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    I have [as mentioned above] separate boot partitions. What I am thinking is wether there's a file internal to the system that needs to be changed. Though this gives me a good idea to change around the Slackware boot loader [I have a number of loaders installed, don't ask why] and see if that works. Thanks for the input.

  4. #4
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Check out your /etc/fstab and look for Label= to identify the partition and then use e2label to check out what all of your partition s are labelled to.

    I'm guessing that the slack fstab is using a partition that fedora has.

    Remove the Label= and use /dev/hda?? instead.

    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts