Accessing a Desktop Remotely....
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Accessing a Desktop Remotely....

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    12

    Accessing a Desktop Remotely....

    How do you access your own desktop at home from a laptop in, say, Cancun? Don't you just need an IP Address and have the Windows configured for Remote Access?
    In silence man can most readily preserve his integrity
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    285
    A google search gives these links hope these help

    F.A.Q About Remote Desktop: http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/r...esktop/faq.asp

    Beginners Guides: Remote Access to Computers: http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.c...id=1441&page=1
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    4
    You can always try hacking it with good old fasioned telnet (as long as you have the IP).

    search the web for some hacking texts. You may become a 1337 h4x0r.
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    100
    talking about remote access utils: radmin is a great tool to do remote management
    (not free so...)
    http://www.radmin.com/
    \"Knowledge is the Real Power\"
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    314
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    159
    If u are using Windows try installing terminal services....

    Or use free ware like VNC from AT&T, PC ANYWHERE

    Many other softwares which I cannot recollect now.......

    I guess above should help you....
    ****** Any man who knows all the answers most likely misunderstood the questions *****
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    137
    There are many remote destop tools outhere. Some of them have already been mentioned such as VNC, PC Anywhere, Remote Desktop, and so on. If you wish to add a bit of security to it you could also try using PPTP or L2TP/Ipsec VPN to secure the data as well. (depending on how secure it needs to be)


    Let me know if you need any more help!
    \"Common Sense, isn\'t that common\"
    \"It is a lot easier to raise a child then it is to repair an adult\"
    -Kruptos
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •