Netcat v1.1 for windows: wont work
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Netcat v1.1 for windows: wont work

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    8

    Unhappy Netcat v1.1 for windows: wont work

    I have a Windows XP computer and I've just downloaded Netcat v1.1 for windows from @stake/L0pht. I've unzipped the files and put them into a self-specified directory. Now when I try to Run Netcat it comes up and says-
    CMD line:
    Although this is not the problem. I will try to type something, and then it will quickly go off. I have access to the C++ files before it was compiled. I think that something in C++ like
    -cin.get();
    would work.
    you want commitment put on your best suit, get your arms around me now we\'re goin\' down down down

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    89
    If you simply type in 'nc' in the command line then NetCat wont be able to determine what you are trying to do and therefore will give the you 'Cmd Line:' where it will wait for a command.
    To get a full list of features, simply type in 'nc -h' or 'nc' and then '-h' when it says 'Cmd Line:'
    -HDD

  3. #3
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852

    Re: Netcat v1.1 for windows: wont work

    Originally posted here by lan9
    I have a Windows XP computer and I've just downloaded Netcat v1.1 for windows from @stake/L0pht. I've unzipped the files and put them into a self-specified directory. Now when I try to Run Netcat it comes up and says-
    CMD line:
    Although this is not the problem. I will try to type something, and then it will quickly go off. I have access to the C++ files before it was compiled. I think that something in C++ like
    -cin.get();
    would work.

    Yea dude, you have to run Netcat from the command line (there is no GUI), not the Run box in Windows.. Start-Run-cmd... Navigate to the directory that you unzipped the Netcat files to, then type in nc with your options... As HDD mentioned, you can get a list of all of the options and switches by typing in nc -h....
    - Maverick

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    8
    so would that mean i have to unzip the file into system32?
    what command would i have to put in to go from cmd to netcat?
    you want commitment put on your best suit, get your arms around me now we\'re goin\' down down down

  5. #5
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852
    Originally posted here by lan9
    so would that mean i have to unzip the file into system32?

    No, you can create a shortcut to c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe, place the shortcut on your desktop, then edit the shortcut to make it's Start In directory the directory that you unzipped your Netcat files to.... Then, when you click on it from the desktop, it will bring up a command line already in the directory that you need to be in for Netcat... You definately don't want to unzip those files into system32......

    what command would i have to put in to go from cmd to netcat?
    Not sure what ya mean?
    - Maverick

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    89
    I to am a bit confussed, I didn't realize that you weren't running NetCat from the command line in the first place. As Maverick811 said there is no GUI for NetCat.

    What I would do is to unzip nc.exe into C:\WINDOWS\System32 and then simply goto the command line through Start -> Run -> 'cmd'. Then in the command line simply type in 'nc -h' to get a list of all the help files.
    For more help on the commands in MS-DOS goto ComputerHope there you will find a good list of commands in MS-DOS.
    I have added the README file from the *nix version of NetCat it is a good read and will give you an idea of what NetCat is all about. If you want tutorials on it then all you have to do is search google as there are millions of them everywhere.
    -HDD

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    8
    Oh i see. Now its working! thnx much.
    you want commitment put on your best suit, get your arms around me now we\'re goin\' down down down

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    lan9,


    Don't be afraid to search this site or google before downloading a program. There's a lot of great threads here. In fact here's one just for you:

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...ghlight=netcat


    enjoy.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32

    Thumbs up

    Also in run you can type in "cmd" in run and you dont need a shortcut
    Every thing that has a begining has an end.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •