fport 2.0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: fport 2.0

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    180

    Question fport 2.0

    Hello,

    I just downloaded fport 2.0 to see how my firewall was doing and when I opened it, it flashed it's screen for less than a half second and it turned off. How do I keep the screen up so I can view it? I'm running XP. Thanks.

    Freddy
    cybnut

  2. #2
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,324
    run it from a command line

    or, run it from start run, and output it to a text file

    start run c:\locationoffport\fport.exe >c:\fport.txt

    commandline will work best though.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  3. #3
    @ŞΜĮЙǐЅŦГǻţΩЯ D0pp139an93r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    1,694
    Start--Run--Command.com

    use this to launch fport.


    Edit: I when I posted, there were no responses...
    Real security doesn't come with an installer.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    180
    That command doesn't seem to work. I tryed both "run" and the "command line".
    cybnut

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    180
    Once I get Command.com running, what do I type in? I tryed a couple of things, but they didn't work.
    cybnut

  6. #6
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    Fred: To simplify the whole process use explorer to copy fport into the root of C:. Then do the Start-run cmd.exe. Then, in the command window type:-

    cd\ <enter>
    fport <enter>

    Voila......
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    180
    Hey everybody, thanks for the help. I got it figured out. Thanks for the help.
    cybnut

  8. #8
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883
    What OS do you have?

    If you have W95/W98 then START > RUN type in command and then hit enter

    Win2k/XP Same as above except type in cmd instead of command

    Once you have a DOS prompt, then run Fport

    --TH13
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  9. #9
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Hehehehe. The frigging Nintendo generation doesn't even know there's such a thing as a CLI.

    A'ight to recap and expand what everyone else said:

    create a folder on C: called tools.
    Unzip the fport archive to this folder.

    Right click on "My Computer" and choose properties.
    Select the advanced tab.
    Click on the "Environment Variables" button.
    In the top half click on "New.."
    Name: PATH
    Value: C:\tools

    Click ok, ok, ok etc

    Now you're ready.

    Start -> Run

    For Win9x enter command.com
    For NT/2K/XP enter cmd.exe

    This opens up the CLI. On the prompt run fport.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides