Pop-up display.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Pop-up display.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    217

    Pop-up display.

    Hi all, my problem was concern about pop-up which is display atomatically when i start my PC even im not surf any website. I already try remove them using adware utilities.

    can someone help me? explain how it works, and how to remove them.

    Thanks ahead.

  2. #2
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Try disabling messenger service. This article should be able to help. For more information this Google search should help.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    217
    When I go to Messenger Properties, and I found it disabled already... Anyway, thanks MsMittens

    I found that pop-up which is always display automatically was from easy.adpozwerzone.com

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401

    Re: Pop-up display.

    Originally posted here by JohnHACK
    Hi all, my problem was concern about pop-up which is display atomatically when i start my PC {....}
    Did you check the startup folders? Maybe there's a link in there.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    510
    I'd check the Run folder in the registry to see if it is listed there.
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run


    Edited due to SirDice's catch. (two posts down)
    \"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    217
    I already check startup folder, but found nothing. And I was wondering, There is no Currentversion\Run below Microsoft in registry as whatthe said.

  7. #7
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    There should be windows between Microsoft and currentversion.

    The correct key is:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    You may also need to check:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    *Note: The run key doesn't have to exist in current_user but if it exists check it.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    510
    Sorry for forgetting to type Windows. I'll edit.
    \"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn

  9. #9
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    I think that it might be in your Windows "Hosts" file/folder

    You did not state your operating system so I cannot give you precise instructions

    Use Windows Explorer to find your hosts file/folder and open it in a programmer's text editor like notepad or wordpad.

    Delete the references to the malware.

    MAKE A BACKUP FIRST

    Please do not take this as a criticism, but it would help us to help you if you stated operating system & browser type/version for software and the physical specifications for hardware. Yes you have posted before and you have a profile, but I am sure that you have all sorts of friends and relatives asking for help so we don't know what machine you are working on

    Cheers

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    217
    My OS is WinXP Pro SP1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •