Help with netcat 1.1...
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Help with netcat 1.1...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    41

    Help with netcat 1.1...

    Ok I don't understand netcat 1.1.
    The thing is, I downloaded it zip file.
    Ok, and I opened it, typed in a command it then automatically dissappears.
    Why is that?
    I'm running windoze 2k pro.
    Do I have to install it, like i did "nmap".
    by extracting to my programs files.
    And accessing netcat threw dos like nmap?
    Any suggestions on how to get netcat running correctly?!?!
    \"If knowledge is power. Why doesn\'t everybody read?\"

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    no its a stand alone app and doesn't require installation but its also a dos app and has to be run from the command prompt. if you want to use the run box and preferr not to open a dos box first you can use "cmd /k nc <args>"

    if you put it in the search path it'll make your life easier. i always put it in \system32
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    41

    Did that ...

    Ok, I typed that command in my run box.
    it did the same exact thing when i open netcat and run a command.
    it just automatically closes.
    for example I'll type this cmd "nc host 25" and it'll just close and that's it.
    you said copy it to /system 32 how is that done?
    \"If knowledge is power. Why doesn\'t everybody read?\"

  4. #4
    AntiOnline n00b
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    665
    hi

    Strange!!! "cmd /k nc <args>" shoud have worked. Lets try it ine more time click Start-->Run Type "Cmd" in the command prompt browse using cd to the netcat folder, then type the "nc" command If it still dosen't work try downloading the utility again it might be corrupt i have downloded it from here see if the problem presists

    [EDIT]
    WarTux are you sure you are not trying to run it by clicking on the nc exe in the explorer it , i tried a few things the dissapeeering thing only happens when i run it buy clicking on the nc exe in the explorer. but if you run it from within cmd it should work.

    now that you have copied it into System32 folder , Just opn a Command Prompt and Type nc <Args>

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    41
    IDK.
    maybe it wasnt ment for it to work for me.
    (lol), thats where i downloaded it from sword.
    and I putt it in "/system32 folder" still nothing.
    - shrugs - same outcome as before.
    \"If knowledge is power. Why doesn\'t everybody read?\"

  6. #6
    I've only recently used netcat, but I'm an advanced dos/windows command line interface user.

    Here's what you should do:
    1: unzip netcat (from now on called nc) to the c:\ drive
    2: open a command prompt window either through the start-&gt;programs-&gt;accessories menu
    -or- press [win]+r and type cmd
    -or- select start-&gt;run then type cmd
    3: navigate to the root C drive by typing cd \
    4: type nc &lt;commands&gt; to execute net cat

    to copy the file from the root c:\ drive. type move nc.exe c:\windows\system32
    after that command, you can use nc at any time through a command prompt
    You are so bored that you are reading my signature?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    41
    Ha..finally good job.
    Got it to work.
    Thanks alot man.
    - Tux (gone)
    \"If knowledge is power. Why doesn\'t everybody read?\"

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    and people ask me why i drink!
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •