Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hard Disk CRASH

Hard Disk CRASH

Introduction: I am a newbie in this site. I am already in debts and now hard disk crashed. I don’t have enough money to buy any recovery software or new hard disk. Please help me out.

Configuration:
    CELERON 2 GHz,128 MB RAM, 60 GB Hard Disk (Samsung), Mercury 845 GLM Main board. Windows 98se installed with Linux (Mandrake 9.1).
    Subject:
    Hard disk crashed.
    Problem:

Recently I have installed soft-ice for windows95. I am practicing Assemble language using both TASM and A86 assemblers (I know they are old). I wrote a little program for printing a character “A “on the dos screen. The code is:

MAIN SEGMENT
    ASSUME DS:MAIN,ES:MAIN,CS:MAIN,SS:MAIN

START:
    MOV AH,02h
    MOV DL,41h

INT 21h
    INT 20h
    MAIN ENDS
    END START

When complied it in TASM it gave an .obj and on linking it by using
    TLINK filename.obj it gave an exe file when I clicked it the computer hanged.
    I pressed ctrl+alt+del once instead of showing end task panel the computer restarted.
    I then complied the above code with A86,the result was fine. On the same day I installed a game prince of Persia. I played it and it worked fine. But when I restarted the system my computer’s VGA was gone. I reinstalled the VGA. I again played the game. Then was unzipping a game metal gear solid suddenly the electricity went off. After that when I restarted my system, nothing worked. Windows did not load. I tried safe mode but it didn’t work. I used a bootable disk to start my system. C:,F:,G: drives were fine, but when got to D: and E: drives and wrote Dir the label of drive was an ASCII Symbol( a face, Arrows etc.) and also it gave a message:
    Data Error
    Abort,Retry,Fail?