how to set up an iis server
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: how to set up an iis server

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    127

    how to set up an iis server

    i'm gonna attemp to set up a web server on win2k i have read many tutorials but i have some questions

    firewall = watchguard soho firewall 6

    1. is it bad idea to set it up behind the firewall on the same machine that handles active directory & DNS for the internal network

    2. if so ... and i set it up on a different machine ... should i set it up on the outside of the firewall. i really have no idea how to do this since the firewall has no DMZ port .. only wan and 5 internal ports (only 2 are used of those... one for internal switch, second to wireless access point)

    any ideas

  2. #2
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    1. Yes

    2. Get a second IP from your ISP.

    3. Buy a $60 Linksys to protect your internal machine(s) from the web server... That would create a DMZ.
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  3. #3
    HeadShot Master N1nja Cybr1d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,836
    hey one website to keep in mind is http://www.iis-resources.com

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    127
    if i have to set up a iis server on a different physical machine that would mean that i have to buy another copy of windows 2000 server ... true or not

    or just use apache on linux

  5. #5
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Originally posted here by rabit
    if i have to set up a iis server on a different physical machine that would mean that i have to buy another copy of windows 2000 server ... true or not
    True. You'll need a license for every server you run.
    or just use apache on linux
    That would be a cheap (but very good!) alternative.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  6. #6
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,535
    If I recall correctly step one in setting up a IIS server is taking a large dose of valium..
    Step two had something to do with selling your soul to the devil...

    but realy..

    Your firewall should be able to use port forwarding to enable you to use just any box in your network to feed any port (for example.. 192.168.1.5 serves port 80 while 192.168.1.12 is port 22 on the outside)

    Read up in the manual of your firewall..

    Also setting up multiple services like active directory (indoor "private documents") and webserver (outdoor) on one box might not be too good an idea..
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  7. #7
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    Run ISS LockDown Tool on the IIS Server! And patch it!!
    -Simon \"SDK\"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides