Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stupid subnetting question

Antionline Herpetologist

Stupid subnetting question

Me and my friend use the same ISP. Our LAN IP's are 10.0.0.245 (me) and 10.0.1.27 (friend). Now, since both our subnet masks are 255.255.255.0, we can't access each other's computers using NetBIOS (basically \\10.0.0.245\sharename or \\mycomputername\sharename don't work). I got around this problem by simply changing both our subnet masks to 255.255.0.0. What I wanted to know is whether this has any effect on the network as a large and whether anything can be done to prevent users doing this.

Cheers,
    cgkanchi
    Buy the Snakes of India book, support research and education (sorry the website has been discontinued)
    My blog: http://biology000.blogspot.com

As a newbie, I didnt get ur question. But it is very strange ip configuration.
    First, ur ISP assigns to u a private IP range (10.x.x.x.x)? u dont have a iana ip address assigned? how do u go to internet? ISP proxy (or nat) ur requests?
    ALL users of that ISP shares the same address range? (it does not look like a PRIVATE if someone can see another one)
    Other odd thing is that u know their ip address but u cant get a route to it with a 24 bit mask. But U CAN get to it if 16 bit mask. That is really odd. Im assuming that u and ur friend are in distinct connections (not on same lan)
    I dont think that this change can cause a problem except that u bring to ur network thousands of unknown people....
    Meu sítio

FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

AO Ancient: Team Leader
    The subnet mask is used to determine whether the destination is local or remote. If the mask says the destination IP is local it sends out an ARP "who has 10.0.0.1". If the mask says the destination is remote it sends the packet to the default gateway for further routing.