Thread: Novell, LDAP, & PHP

Novell, LDAP, & PHP

I'd like to use Novell's LDAP server to authenticate website users on an intranet. I've found that I must select the option to allow clear text passwords in order to get it to work. Problem is, I don't want to use clear text passwords (for obvious reasons). Anybody know how do this without using clear text?

The web server is not running on the same box as the LDAP server and the site uses PHP. Using clear text username/password the code would look something like this...

<?php

/* code here to verify username & password entered, don't contain invalid characters, etc */

$ldap = @ldap_connect("1.2.3.4") or die("Could not connect to LDAP server");
    if ($ldap$)
    $bind_result = @ldap_bind($ldap, "cn=" . $username . ",o=Company", $password) or die("Invalid Login Attempt");

/* Bunch of other code here */

?>

AO Ancient: Team Leader
    I'm no programmer but I would think that unless you can generate a suitable hash of the password you won't be able to authenticate in anything but clear text.

It's a long time since I played with Novell but I have to guess that the authentication works a lot like windows where the password itself doesn't get sent, a hash of it does.

But it's possible I'm mislead..... been a long time since I looked at the details of AD authentication.....
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides