HD noise and memory
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: HD noise and memory

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    101

    HD noise and memory

    my RH9 box is really struggling to do basic tasks, opening a broser takes 10 secs, getting a web page on broadband should not take 15secs

    when an application is opened the hard disk make so much noise (not mechanical) until the application is up and running then it stops. this can go on for 30 seconds at the worst.

    i have 128mb memory but 122mb is used and 3mb is free when i look at the system proc read outs

    what is causing this prob as she never used to be like this??

    even scrolling up and down has the same effect....

    i did notice that x windows was using 100mb when i moved open windows about

    any thoughts?
    like life, this is a test

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    101

    HD noise and memory

    my RH9 box is really struggling to do basic tasks, opening a broser takes 10 secs, getting a web page on broadband should not take 15secs

    when an application is opened the hard disk make so much noise (not mechanical) until the application is up and running then it stops. this can go on for 30 seconds at the worst.

    i have 128mb memory but 122mb is used and 3mb is free when i look at the system proc read outs

    what is causing this prob as she never used to be like this??

    even scrolling up and down has the same effect....

    i did notice that x windows was using 100mb when i moved open windows about

    any thoughts?
    like life, this is a test

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    94
    Perhaps a runaway process? Have you run 'top' to see what's happening during that time?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    94
    Perhaps a runaway process? Have you run 'top' to see what's happening during that time?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    101

    will try top

    will try top if i can get to the consol as everything grinds to a halt

    doing it now......
    nothing really serious

    it happens for example when the spell check on this site loads the HD goes nuts or when my conformation of new email waits till the sound has loaded every thing grinds to a halt until the sound is played, you know what i mean?? (i hope i am making sence)
    like life, this is a test

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    101

    will try top

    will try top if i can get to the consol as everything grinds to a halt

    doing it now......
    nothing really serious

    it happens for example when the spell check on this site loads the HD goes nuts or when my conformation of new email waits till the sound has loaded every thing grinds to a halt until the sound is played, you know what i mean?? (i hope i am making sence)
    like life, this is a test

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    94
    It sounds like your system is just busy using swap. You only have 3MB of RAM available before or after you start your browser? If before, then that would explain a lot. When it runs out of free RAM, it'll use swap space.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    94
    It sounds like your system is just busy using swap. You only have 3MB of RAM available before or after you start your browser? If before, then that would explain a lot. When it runs out of free RAM, it'll use swap space.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •