Ethereal- can i test WinPcap ?
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ethereal- can i test WinPcap ?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14

    Question Ethereal- can i test WinPcap ?

    ive installed winpcap 3.01 alpha and ethereal-rebooting between each.i didnt check 1st for earlier version of winpcap(but no sign of it in registry)
    ethereal doesnt detect any interface in the capture options,as it said it would in the online instructions
    so im wondering if there is some way testing if winpcap installed properly.
    i havent used pkt capture b4 so im not familiar with it
    any ideas?meanwhile its back to the instructions for me............

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    772
    get windump and try using that, do a windump -D and see if any adapters are listed, if not uninstall winpcap and install the latest version.
    The above sentences are produced by the propaganda and indoctrination of people manipulating my mind since 1987, hence, I cannot be held responsible for this post\'s content - me

    www.elhalf.com

  3. #3
    @ΜĮЙǐЅŦГǻţΩЯ D0pp139an93r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    1,694
    I heard somewhere that the newest version of WinPCap doesn't work with Ethereal.

    I believe that this should work fine.
    http://winpcap.polito.it/install/bin/WinPcap_3_0.exe
    Real security doesn't come with an installer.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14
    ok thanx-ill try the earlier ver.of winpcap

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14
    ok -ive installed the older ver. after removing the new one

    ethereal still doesnt pick up an interface like online instructions says
    no matter -ill avago at this pkdump thing................... =]

  6. #6
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883
    What version of ethereal are you running?

    I'm using WinPcap 3.0.1 alpha with ethereal 0.10.2 C and it works like a champ.
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  7. #7
    @ΜĮЙǐЅŦГǻţΩЯ D0pp139an93r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    1,694
    NIC doesn't like being promiscuous?
    Real security doesn't come with an installer.

  8. #8
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    Hmmm....

    I have the WinPCap 3.01 Alpha, Ethereal 0.10.2 (C) running just fine under Win2k SP4, WinXP SP1. The WinXP box even works fine on the Wireless NIC.

    I'm have to guess that Doppel might be on the right track.... I heard there is a small subset of NICs that don't like the 3.01 alpha build. You may be better stepping back from the alpha version to the 3.0 version and seeing what happens.
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  9. #9
    @ΜĮЙǐЅŦГǻţΩЯ D0pp139an93r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    1,694
    From what I understand, the new pcap library is somewhat different from the previous ones, and this has led to some compatability problems. I can't remember whether it was Ethereal that had the problem, or certain NIC's.
    Real security doesn't come with an installer.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14
    ver. 0.10.3(C)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides