random power outages
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: random power outages

  1. #1
    AO's Resident Redneck The Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,539

    random power outages

    hi, today and yesterday i have been having random power outages. i will just be typing/talking and what not and then my computer will just reboot for no reason, in the middle of everything. i checked for virus/spyware and im clean so that isnt a problem. it might be my power suppy??? i have a dell p4 that i have had for about 3 yrs. Dell's website was down so i couldnt get my power/motherboard specs, sorry! any ideas? thanx bye.
    Git R Dun - Ty
    A tribe is wanted

  2. #2
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867
    Could also be heat issues. How hot is it where the computer is sitting. You might want to set up a fan just to cool things down a bit and see if that helps.

    CHeers:
    DjM

  3. #3
    AO's Resident Redneck The Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,539
    its not to hot but, i do have a printer sitting right next to it and things r a little crowded
    Git R Dun - Ty
    A tribe is wanted

  4. #4
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867
    Make sure you have good ventilation around the box, it may not feel to hot on the outside, but without ventilation, it could be to hot inside the box.

    Cheers:

    /edit

    Here is a small freeware utility to monitor things like cpu temperature. I have never used it, but you might want to check it out.

    DjM

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    10
    A little help?!?!... I had a client that had very similar symptoms... after some serious hardware checks I replaced the cpu fan and all was well... its about a 5-20 $ invetsment... might be worth checking into.
    Everyone has to start somewhere

  6. #6
    AO's Resident Redneck The Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,539
    ok thanx for the help, i might go and replace the power supply...
    Git R Dun - Ty
    A tribe is wanted

  7. #7
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi Tex,

    Are you using a surge protection strip...........what is the power like.......do the lights flicker/TV cut out?.

    Isn't it the thunderstorm season in your part of the world?

    Is this a random thing, or does it happen after a reasonably consistent amount of time?

    Cheers
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  8. #8
    AO's Resident Redneck The Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,539
    its pretty random and i dont have a surge protector, just a power strip thingy, sometimes the lights/tv cut off if we have a bad storm... but i intend to get a surge protector soon!
    Git R Dun - Ty
    A tribe is wanted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •