Home page hijacking
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Home page hijacking

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1

    Home page hijacking

    My normal homepage is Google but is now a page called "I can find it". This homepage will only appear after I close the computer down and restart. I have run Adware and AVG and have not been able to get rid of this. Does anyone have an idea of how to get rid of this pest? Iam also runnig Zone alarm.
    Antony303

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    519
    try start>run>msconfig go to startup and see if anything is running in there that shouldnt be. check to make sure there is no programs installed on your computer that are making it default back to that website.... other than that go into internet options and change it back to google.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Hi.. welcome to AO..

    this forum section "Questions About AntiOnline" is for questions relating to the forum itself..

    maybe you could ask a moderator to move this post to Spyware / Adware forum section ?

    For your problem.. also scan your computer with spybot (search and destroy) then download a tool called hijackthis and post a log here.. (you can attach the txt file to the post)

  4. #4
    Senior Member Spyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    742
    like sumdumguy said run hijack this and post a log but also read this
    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=257405
    Duct tape.....A whole lot of Duct Tape
    Spyware/Adaware problem click
    here

  5. #5
    AFLAAACKKK!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,065
    When you run all these programs make sure your computer is running in safe mode! This is so it will most likely NOT run the spyware, because programs like spybot can't get rid of spyware that is currently running. In safe mode the computer only starts programs that are necessary for the computer to run.
    I am the uber duck!!1
    Proxy Tools

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,019
    When you run all these programs make sure your computer is running in safe mode
    Umm, no offense, but that's wrong...(depending on the tool) some of these tools only look at what is active, so running in safe mode will defeat the purpose. I have only had a few entries that Spybot or Adaware couldn't take care of in normal operation, and in that case, they will run at startup to take care of the malware.

    If you had said it is better to be in safe mode to remove some of the spyware, then I would have to agree.

  7. #7
    AFLAAACKKK!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,065
    Well, basically run it in both safe mode and normal mode. Is that better?
    I am the uber duck!!1
    Proxy Tools

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides