Apache access configuration
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Apache access configuration

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    317

    Apache access configuration

    i just installed apache and im trying to host a web page(for testing purposes) but i cant access it over the internet. i can do http://localhost, but if i try http://myip, it says FORBIDDEN or something. how can i configure it so that people would be able to visit my page.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    245

    Re: Apache access configuration

    Originally posted here by Phonedog911
    ...but if i try http://myip, it says FORBIDDEN or something. how can i configure it so that people would be able to visit my page.
    Maybe you can get a little more specific about what the web server rejects the request with. In the mean time check your apache logs; whatever the problem is it will be spelled out in there (e.g. /var/log/httpd default for RH).

    -- spurious
    Get OpenSolaris http://www.opensolaris.org/

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    317
    [Sat May 29 22:50:52 2004] [error] [client myip] client denied by server configuration: c:/phpdev5/www

    i guess i need to edit the configuration to allow all clients? anybody know how to do that?

  4. #4
    Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,407
    My first guess would be a firewall, but from your log it looks like you actually got the request, which would mean a firewall didn't block it. That also rules out maybe your ISP blocking all incoming traffic to 80 to prevent users from running a webserver. I don't know anything in the config off the top of my head that will block outside users from viewing your webpage, well I guess I do. You're not behind a router are you? Cause then you have to forward the requests on port 80 to the correct local machine. I'm gonna attach my config file for apache for you to look at. I think it's the default one that the exe for windows makes. I didn't change anything. Make sure you don't have some weird thing that says deny from all allow from 127.0.0.1 or something in yours. Good luck.

  5. #5
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    403 mostly comes out of a configuration*fault* IMO.

    Check in that website folder if you see a .htaccess file. With this file you can do lots of things,
    but mostly its used to deny or allow ip's and/or ranges.

    Edit that file, or you can even remove it if you want everybody to see whats in that dir.

    Cheers

    ** H3r3tic dude, if your isp blocks incoming 80 or so, you mostly will get a connection timed out or so. And with a firewall a connection refused or something.
    He sees a 403, meaning the apache is reachable, but has restrictions in it regarding ip's imo
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,255
    Originally posted here by Phonedog911
    [Sat May 29 22:50:52 2004] [error] [client myip] client denied by server configuration: c:/phpdev5/www

    i guess i need to edit the configuration to allow all clients? anybody know how to do that?
    Apache 1.3 Documentation
    Apache 2.0 Documentation

    Specifically look at the Allow and Deny directives.
    Chris Shepherd
    The Nelson-Shepherd cutoff: The point at which you realise someone is an idiot while trying to help them.
    \"Well as far as the spelling, I speak fluently both your native languages. Do you even can try spell mine ?\" -- Failed Insult
    Is your whole family retarded, or did they just catch it from you?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    317
    ok, i have to use the allow and deny directives, but where do i use them? this is my first experince with apache or running a web server in general. can somebody give me some more detailed instructions?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    317
    wait, i got it. i added my friend's ip addreses to the setup but how can i just let any ip addreses access it? "allow from *"? the faq has some examples but not for that

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    317
    nvm it's "allow from all" thanx

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    317
    we put the allow from all directive in httpd.conf and it seemed to work but it really only allows computers on the network or(i think) computers with the same ip prefix as the server(24). how do i fix this?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •