Create Your Very Own System Freezes!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Create Your Very Own System Freezes!

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675

    Smile Create Your Very Own System Freezes!

    Create Your Very Own System Freezes!

    Thatís right! You can be the proud creator and owner of your very own System Freezes! Act now and be the first one on your LAN or Home Network to enjoy the full benefits and satisfaction of this special offer. How can you get this once in a lifetime chance to spend countless hours of self-imposed troubleshooting? How can you be as lucky as I was and waste your precious time?

    All of this fun can be yours for the low cost of installing one additional fan in your tower. Thatís right! Well Relyt that just doesnít seem possible! Friends, Iím here to tell you that I just couldnít believe it until I experienced it for myself for almost a whole month! So you wonít want to miss this opportunity!

    To immediately take advantage of this special offer, go into one of those boxes of old computer parts you have been storing and grab a fan. Donít bother reading the label beyond where it says 12V DC. But jump right in and quickly install that bugger, hook the wiring connectors up, and then fire up the computer. Shortly thereafter, you will be enjoying the pleasures of creating and owning your very own intermittent System Freezes!

    Moral of this story: Donít use a Power Supply Fan from an old AT Box as a Cooling Fan without comparing Voltage and Amp requirements!
    Connection refused, try again later.

  2. #2
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    Watch your system overheat now instead!
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    347
    is this a kind of start of tutorial?
    well, true, people do anything to save 2 dollars nowdays
    probably we can all post few hundreds stuff ups we all experience will mention one of mine which cost me motherboard and cpu just to try to put termaltake temperature monitoring gadget on.
    even downloaded how to do it in pictures from termaltakes site
    but for some unnown reason insted to place little wire underneath cpu i place it on cpu and put cpu fan on it.
    the rest is new upgrade as both motherbaord and cpu died instantly
    happy building

  4. #4
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hi relyt,

    You mean I paid all that money to Billy Gates, when the real solution was as simple as you suggest

    It is a good point, I know of several fried processors and MoBos where people thought they could "save" by using heatsinks and fans from older equipment! Just because it "looked OK"

    OK on a positive note, get an exhaust fan.......$5-10 and shifts 40+cfm OUT of the box............and you need to do that...........it is not about JUST cooling the CPU, video card, memory and HDDs, you need to create a positive airflow.

    I try to aim for a partial vacuum effect, so the box is sort of interacting with its environment. IMHO it is not the number and capacity of the coolers it is what they actually DO, and if they complement eachother.

    The other classic is mixing memory.............OK, sometimes it works, but performance is reduced to that of the slowest componenents you have installed.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Good Morning Nihil and All,

    I have a new exhaust fan, a supply fan, a CPU fan, and now air is really flowing in and out.

    But I sure do miss those system freezes. The sudden, nothing works, loosing data in the bit bucket, oh, don't know how I'll go on without them

    Obviously feel kinda silly about the other fan. Still have it though... It's back in the box, just waiting to be grabbed again!

    Connection refused, try again later.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hi relyt,

    Just give us a snailmail addy and we will send you your own personal copy of WinME. Swap it for that fan...........

    /me thinks...........now who do I hate enough?.........../

    Thanks, that was an interesting one!

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Nihil,

    If we find someone we really don't like, I'll send you the fan and you can put it in a box with WinMe and forward to them. If the guy installs both of them, the poor ole chap won't get passed the first splash screen before the bugger freezes up eternally!

    take care and thanks.
    Connection refused, try again later.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides