few questions about mobos and processors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: few questions about mobos and processors

  1. #1
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729

    few questions about mobos and processors

    ok 2 part question


    1. anyone here used a VIA processor?
    i have a C3 via processor and i wanted to know if it was anygood

    2. i have a soyo mobo *socket 370* and the above C3 processor
    the processor is rated faster then the mobo is, will i hurt the processor or mobo if i use them together, will my system be unstable, or will it be jsut fine


    mobo - sy-7vem

    processor - via C3 1.0 ghz

    the motherboard is only rated for like 900mhz or something


    if u need more info just ask.....
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    112
    I think it should be just fine. The processor will only run at 900mhz though I am pretty sure. Its like having water move from a big pipe to a small pipe, only so much can go through at one time. Just make sure you set the jumpers on their highest setting on the mobo so you do get the full 900mhz it can handle. Good luck, and I hope I helped a bit.

  3. #3
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729
    yea all of my friends thought it would be fine but i just want to be sure




    o and can anyone find info on an intel mobo....D856VP?
    i cant find anything, not on google and nothing on intels site
    go it on ebay so no support with it
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    112
    Hmmm...I can't find it either. What type of processor does it use? Socket....? And also what type of RAM? You may just have to tinker with it. If you can find the jumpers for the fsb and the clock multiplier it may give you a rough idea of how fast a processor you can put in it. It also may help if you know what version/type of bios it has. This may be a little bit of a clue to finding manuals for it. Have you been able to find any other part numbers on it? Anything at all?

  5. #5
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729
    every part number ive tried doesnt register

    it had dual channel ddr ram and it has 4 channels
    socket 478b so its P4 or celeron but im just gonna go with a 2.6 gig for now and later il up it to what ever it can handel when i get more info
    another thing i want to do is use its sata slots..get a raptor hdd *shutters* imagin the SPEED
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

  6. #6
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Hi,

    Question 1.

    You should be OK, as I suspect that your C3 doesn't actually run at 1GHz. I would guess that it is an 850 or a 933. I have never used a C3 but I have used Athlons and Cyrixes, and they both use "performance ratio" rather that true clockspeed.

    I guess you will have seen this:

    7VBA133 933MHz 700MHz N/A 933A
    7VBA133U 1.1GHz 1.1GHz 1.4GHz/1.4GHz 933A
    7VCA 933MHz 700MHz N/A 933A
    7VCA-2 933MHz 700MHz N/A 933A
    7VCA-E 1.0 GHz 800MHz N/A 933A
    7VCM 933MHz 533MHz N/A N/A
    7VDA 1.0GHz 1.0GHz N/A 933A
    7VEM 933MHz 950MHz N/A 850**
    7VEM-Pro 1.0GHz 1.1GHz 1.4GHz/1.4GHz 850*
    7VMA-B 933MHz 800MHz N/A 850
    7ISA 933MHz 700MHz N/A 933A
    7ISA+ 1.0GHz 850MHz N/A 933A
    7IS2 1.0GHz 1.0GHz N/A 933A
    TISU 1.1GHz 1.1GHz 1.4GHz/1.4GHz 933A
    * This board only supports 1.6v - 1.65v C3 processors.

    ** This board only supports 1.6v - 2.0v C3 processors.

    You need to check which model of board and the VOLTAGE of the processor

    Question 2.

    AFAIK Intel have never made an 856 chipset..............855 is the closest, but that is for portables. The 865 chipset IS pretty common, are you sure it isn't a typo?

    Cheers

    EDIT: have a look at this:

    http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/...jun2k3-p1.html
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  7. #7
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729
    im sure it ses D865VP on the mobo...if u need proof il send u a pic of every number on this thing
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

  8. #8
    Old Fart
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,658
    www.belarc.com has a nifty tool called belarc advisor....should tell you all you need to know and it's a free download!
    Al
    It isn't paranoia when you KNOW they're out to get you...

  9. #9
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729
    yea ive used belarc before...along with aida32 <---lots better then belarc but belarc has its strong points over aida32
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides