Noob,Sorry
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Noob,Sorry

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    11

    Noob,Sorry

    Hello all,
    I am a noob to this forum and bear little knowledge, I am looking for some help,I would be happy if you could answer some questions:-

    How can i hide my IP/Hostname on IRC?

    I have an open port (1025) Is this bad?

    When i connect my router/Modem it connects but not to the internet, It says connected via usb.It can download but not view IE things, What can i do?

    Sorry if theese are form all different topics but i didnt want you to think im tryin to get a post count and get flamed, I hope you understand.
    Thankyou.
    Windows XP Pro , 2400+ AMD, 80gb Western Digital,MSI-K7N 2G Delta ILSR,256 pc2400, CDRW ,DVD Multi format RW

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199
    Im pretty sure port 1025 is used my one of the services in windows, perhaps messenger? just be sure to keep all updates and patches installed and you should be fine.

    About hiding your hostname/ip setting up a proxie should mask your ip, but you souldnt need to, just becareful what you do, and who you connect with.

    And the thing with your router/modem. Is it connected via usb port or rj-45 connector? if you can download it means you are online, so check to be sure your dns settings are correct. Try going to a webpage using the ip address rather then the url, if that works then your dns settings are off. give us an update on the situation if you have any more problems.
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    The Doctor Und3ertak3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,744
    I hope you understand.
    We don't understand..

    Me thinks it will help if you help us with a bit more information.. Best we start at the beginning..

    What operating system are you playing with.
    What is your internet connection.. is it a dial up, DSL, CAble, ISDN..
    What is the modem, is it internal or external?
    When you say downloading, or View IE things.. WTF are you talking about..
    Are you able to view webpages in another browser and not in Internet explorer (what version)?
    or can you download via ftp, and not Browse (view Webpages).. what exactly is your question..
    ..

    Found this on another site.. Feel it is as valid here:
    Tip for New Members: Be clear in what you're asking
    For most new members, the most frustrating part of asking a question is when an Expert asks you one back. Remember, they aren't sitting at your computer; the Experts are from all over the world, and while they want to help you, sometimes knowing what operating system you have, or which version of a piece of software you're using, is important information. Make sure you click on the link in the email notification you get, and respond to the Experts -- that will get you your solution a lot quicker.
    Cheers
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024
    Just thought I'd pop in and say there is NOTHING sorry about being a noob. EVERYONE was a noob once, whether they admit it or not. You have to start somewhere, and you seem to know a little bit already, so you are doing well. At least you know what an IP is that is always a good start. Remember, Google is your friend! (and so is this board) You could try googling any port that you want to find out more about such as "port 1025" and see what you come up with.
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    843
    Originally posted here by blipped4
    How can i hide my IP/Hostname on IRC?
    wingates... yeah proxies & stuff blah blah blah and uhhh... thats about all unless you wanna go all out with a nat/router with some encryption methods & (ect). Its nice stuff to have while you boost & DCC trade your collection of kiddie porn. Everything else has already been said because im not only slow but I'm also a stupid & idiotic joke.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    11

    THANKS!

    thankyou so much,it has been very welcoming and i hope to join in on the fu,I thught i was going to killed with flames,But no.This board is very nice and helpfull. As the Undettaker states i need more info, I shall fill in my signature with all my pc information.

    EDIT: Now updated,Sorry its a little mixed up, You an only have a signature of 4 lines.
    Windows XP Pro , 2400+ AMD, 80gb Western Digital,MSI-K7N 2G Delta ILSR,256 pc2400, CDRW ,DVD Multi format RW

  7. #7
    Custom User
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    503
    Why bother putting it in your signature. I mean, I'm sure it would be handy for other posts, but why don't you just post your info to the board, that way you should get help quicker.

    ac

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    11
    Sorry i thought it would just be easier to put it in my signature,So people can see my set up:-

    CPU : AMD 2400+ ThoroughBred
    HDD : 80 Gig Western Digital
    Motherbaord: MSI K7N2-G ILSR DELTA
    Drive 1: CDRW
    Drive 2: DVDRW Multi Format
    OS: Microsoft Windows XP Pro
    RAM: 256MB pc2400 DDR SDRAM

    Router: NetGear dm206a
    Windows XP Pro , 2400+ AMD, 80gb Western Digital,MSI-K7N 2G Delta ILSR,256 pc2400, CDRW ,DVD Multi format RW

  9. #9
    Custom User
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    503
    Stop apologising You don't have anything to be sorry about, I was just wondering and trying to give you a suggestion.

    ac

    P.S. don't dare say sorry about this post!!!!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    38
    Ok, Time to take a crack at this

    How can i hide my IP/Hostname on IRC?
    1.For this question I agree with everyone else, Proxies. Shouldn’t be too hard googling it returns plenty of useful results and lists. Not sure how reliable this is but this looks promising http://www.multiproxy.org/ .

    I have an open port (1025) Is this bad?
    2.The open port doesn’t seem like to big of a deal in itself. That specific port is registered to network blackjack in both TCP and UDP. If the open port does bother you could consider getting a software firewall or amending your current firewall rules to disallow this communication on that port. In the event you need a firewall I recommend these free firewalls.
    Zonealarm- http://www.zonelabs.com/
    Sygate- http://www.sygate.com/
    Outpost- http://www.agnitum.com/products/outpost/
    Kerio- www.kerio.com/
    Any of these should do the job nicely

    When i connect my router/Modem it connects but not to the internet, It says connected via usb.It can download but not view IE things, What can i do?
    3.I’m not totally sure I understand this question, so instead of leading you astray I will leave this one alone for now.

    Hopefully this is helpful
    My 2 pesos
    AzE

    Edit-Fixed Link

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides