not seeing computers
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: not seeing computers

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    164

    not seeing computers

    I am fed up windows 2000 p2p networking there is always a problem to see other computers in same LAN. first few days no problem.Firewall I got but set it exactly right. No complain on frewall.

    Though i can ping all the computer and even access the mapped drives made on each computer. Icannot see the computers around me on the NETWORK NEIGHBOOURHOOD . ANY suggestion pls?

    Does installing any software do this?

  2. #2
    T3h 1337 N00b kryptonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Seattle, Washington.
    Posts
    523
    Im not sure that i fully understand your question. Please restate it more clearly.

  3. #3
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    It sounds like when he opens Network Neighbourhood he cannot see any computers. Have you tried this without the firewall?

    Thread moved to Operating Systems.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    164
    Yes I did, it didn't work

  5. #5
    AO Decepticon CXGJarrod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,038
    Originally posted here by rajunpl
    Yes I did, it didn't work
    Have you tried uninstalling the firewall - rebooting - and then checking Network Neighbourhood? Sometimes it will not automatically get it.

    BTW: Does your IP start with 169....?

    Start - Run - Type "cmd" - then type "ipconfig /all"
    N00b> STFU i r teh 1337 (english: You must be mistaken, good sir or madam. I believe myself to be quite a good player. On an unrelated matter, I also apparently enjoy math.)

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024
    I always have this problem on my home network.. I gave up, and use the FTP from IIS and only turn it on when I need to copy something from one to the other...
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5
    I have similar problem ..

    * my desktop PC ( win XP ) second ethernet card manually set to 192.0.72.1
    * my laptop ( win 2K ) ethernet port manually set to 192.0.72.2
    * connected the two with cross cable
    * is able to PING in both direction ( network status shows RECEIVE on one, when PING from the other one).

    BUT... it failed when i try to run \\192.0.72.1\c$ or \\192.0.72.2\c$, and it used to work, and notw it doesnt !! any ideas ??

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •