motherboard problem
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: motherboard problem

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    86

    motherboard problem

    I recently built a computer and when i connected the power-switch to the motherboard, my computer still wouldn't turn on... I tried the power supply on another computer, but it worked, so i think the motherboard is fried, but i don't want to buy another board unless i'm sure this one is fried.
    You laugh because im different, i laugh because your all the same.

  2. #2
    Old Fart
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,658
    A little more detail please....will it POST? If so, will it check the RAM? Give details as to what happens after you hit the power button. Also, the model and manufacturer of m/b might be helpful.
    Al
    It isn't paranoia when you KNOW they're out to get you...

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    86
    It does not POST, i can't even get the LED's on the front to come on... No fan's start moving, nothing at all happens...
    You laugh because im different, i laugh because your all the same.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Raion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    1,299
    Why don't you move the mother board from the computer you tested it on to the one you built to check if it's that.
    WARNING: THIS SIGNATURE IS SHAREWARE PLEASE REGISTER THIS SIGNATURE BY SENDING ME MONEY TO SEE THE COMPLETE SIGNATURE!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    86
    Because the other computer is a pentium 2 and this one is a pentium celeron and the old power supply doesn't have both ATX connectors... my main question is what else could the problem be besides being a bad motherboard?
    You laugh because im different, i laugh because your all the same.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Raion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    1,299
    give us more information on the specs of this computer

    EDIT: Did you check if the CPU, RAM etc is seated correctly?
    WARNING: THIS SIGNATURE IS SHAREWARE PLEASE REGISTER THIS SIGNATURE BY SENDING ME MONEY TO SEE THE COMPLETE SIGNATURE!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    86
    GeForce Fx 5200 grahpics card, 450 watt power supply, SYNTAX Pentium celeron Motherboard, 512 ddr ram
    You laugh because im different, i laugh because your all the same.

  8. #8
    Old Fart
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,658
    OK...no POST...p/s works in a different box...COULD be a grounding issue, which might be solved by using the spacers that most m/b manufacturers supply to insulate the m/b from the case. IF the m/b is fried, I would hope that the retailer would replace it if it was purchased recently.
    Al
    It isn't paranoia when you KNOW they're out to get you...

  9. #9
    Senior Member Raion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    1,299
    which brings us to our next question, is it a new m/b?

    EDIT: Better question: Are all the parts new?
    WARNING: THIS SIGNATURE IS SHAREWARE PLEASE REGISTER THIS SIGNATURE BY SENDING ME MONEY TO SEE THE COMPLETE SIGNATURE!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    86
    ya everything is new... i have a warranty, so i'll just send it back

    thanx
    You laugh because im different, i laugh because your all the same.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •