Hosts file doesn't block sites
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Hosts file doesn't block sites

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    147

    Hosts file doesn't block sites

    Ok, so I thought I'd update my hosts file with a load of servers that give you nasties:

    127.0.0.1 coolwwwsearch.com
    127.0.0.1 coolwebsearch.com
    127.0.0.1 hi.studioaperto.net

    etc...

    However, the pages still load.
    I noticed that there's two other hosts files:

    hosts.bho
    host (recognised as an iCalendar file)

    could these be interfering?
    Mama always said, keep your virus definitions up to date.

  2. #2
    Macht Nicht Aus moxnix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Huson Mt.
    Posts
    1,752
    127.0.0.1 coolwwwsearch.com
    127.0.0.1 coolwebsearch.com
    127.0.0.1 hi.studioaperto.net
    ???? Your blocking your own computer ????
    127.0.0.1 is the internal IP of your own machine. You need to put in the IP address of the offending site/server.

    Edit> http://www.thinkgeek.com/cubegoodies/toys/6806/
    \"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand - strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO - What a Ride!\"
    Author Unknown

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    147
    erm...no, its associating the offending host name with my IP..so it goes to my localhost instead of them.
    Mama always said, keep your virus definitions up to date.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    147
    just realised it could be because of a proxy (web cache) so i'll try bypassing it for local addresses

    edit: that didn't seem to work.
    Mama always said, keep your virus definitions up to date.

  5. #5
    @ΜĮЙǐЅŦГǻţΩЯ D0pp139an93r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    1,696
    Dude.... Using 127.0.0.1 won't work.


    And just to add, 127.0.0.1 is only the loopback interface... It has no purpose other than testing (that I'm going to get into for this)... All network functions run through either a static IP, or a DHCP assigned IP that is assigned to whatever network device you are using.



    Edit: Moxnix, I got a shirt that says that. I have to upgrade it to IPv6 though...
    Real security doesn't come with an installer.

  6. #6
    Your syntax is correct. Something I just learned is that Firefox doesn't pay any attention to the host file. What browser are you using?

    edit:

    I wrote a tutorial on this a few days ago-
    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=258919


    127.0.0.1 63.236.18.118
    127.0.0.1 mjxads.internet.com

    These entries in your host file will block ads from AO, so I would expect your syntax is correct also. To get rid of other variables, clear your temp browser files, hit refresh, and let us know what browser you got.

  7. #7
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    *sigh*

    This is the type of thread that really burns my ass...

    erm...no, its associating the offending host name with my IP..so it goes to my localhost instead of them.
    This is absolutely correct. In fact, most P2P cowboys here remember the good ol' days of Kazaa. Well they used to publish a *very* lengthly HOST file which would send all traffic associated with a particular worthless site to the loopback address. This technique works with *most* applications that follow standard name resolution practices (i.e. host file first, then DNS, etc.). My advise to a few of you would be to get your facts in line before you put on your "1337" hats and go around wielding questionable information.
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    147
    I'm using IE6.

    I got rid of the other hosts files and cleared the temp Internet files but still no luck.
    I suppose putting them in the restricted sites zone would be pretty much as good.
    Mama always said, keep your virus definitions up to date.

  9. #9
    AntiOnline n00b
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    666
    hi

    Something I just learned is that Firefox doesn't pay any attention to the host file. What browser are you using?
    Well my FireFox does pay attention to the host file........I am using ForeFox .9 ....and editing the host file does block the advertisements.......

    --Good Luck--

  10. #10
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    IE6 uses the hosts file for name resolution. You have something else going on. Certain spyware apps can cause this issue. Have you scanned your host with a spyware cleaner yet? I'm assuming a few things here, starting with your HOSTS file being formatted correctly.

    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •