Services as System
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Services as System

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024

    Services as System

    How do they make programs and services run as SYSTEM? Is there a non-third party way to do this? I am just interested in how virus of some kinds do this...
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    245
    Try http://www.codeproject.com, lot of winders programmers hang out there. I'm certain someone has written a tutorial or two on programmatically using the _SYSTEM_ user.

    -- bumblehead
    Get OpenSolaris http://www.opensolaris.org/

  3. #3
    you can use the instsrv.exe that is in the resource kit to make a service out of an executable (that is, if it's possible to run it as a service) and also everything that is run by the task schedular also runs as system, so this means when you use the following command (time may vary) : "at 10:58 /interactive taskmgr"
    that at 10:58 the taskmg will popup as an application run by the system.
    this has pretty nice oppurtunities:

    kill explorer.exe and then via the taskmgr start it again, now everything you will do and start with explorer will also run as system, this means more rights in the registry, and hidden and password protected files aren't that hidden and protected anymore...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,207
    A lot of services run as system. When you install the service, you simply specify the local system user rather than running under a particular account.

    This can also be changed in services in control panel.

    It's occasionally useful to be able to run normal programs as localsystem (especially regedit). There is no really easy way of doing this - but one way is to change the logon screen saver for the default user to regedit.exe, then log out and wait for the screensaver.

    Slarty

  5. #5
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    Check this thread I start. I'm sure it'll help you A LOT! (Mostly phishphreek80 and cacosapo answer)

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=259150
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024
    Nice link! thank you! That should give me enough info to start messing with stuff and keep myself entertained for a while.
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •