Thread: Modem Activity

Modem Activity

I have noticed allot of activity on my cable modem, I have 4 machines hooked up to it through a Netgear Websafe Router, all these machines were off with the exception of 1. I turn off all the auto updates as I do them myself on a regular basis. This activity is pretty much ongoing.

I am looking for something I can use to monitor the information coming to and going out my modem. I have heard of Packet Sniffing but never used them. Would that be the right thing to use, if so then which one. Or a different program either way I would need pretty much a Idiots guide on how to use it.

I am a Newbie on anything with networking, I'm DOS stupid, and a beginner/intermedeate at most other software. I'm only good at building gaming machine's and playing allot. but really want to learn other aspect's. And I really want to know whats going on through my router!!!

Please don't post what I have seen in some of the gaming forums about setting up systems-- "If you don't know what your doing then don't do it / or pay some one to do it" usually refering to stuff like overclocking and such. This is how we learn.

Thanks for any help

Wildcat

Check out winpcap and ethereal especially, ethereal is a very good packet sniffer for diagnosing problems.

"If you don't know what your doing then don't do it / or pay some one to do it"
    Hopefully you won't see that here...