Ping acting up
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Ping acting up

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7

    Ping acting up

    Hi everyone.

    I'm getting some weird characters in place of the IP address when I use ping. Here is the output of a ping to google.com:

    Code:
    Pinging google.com [►] with 32 bytes of data:
    
    Reply from 216.239.37.99: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=241
    Reply from 216.239.37.99: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=241
    Reply from 216.239.37.99: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=241
    Reply from 216.239.37.99: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=241
    
    Ping statistics for Où♠:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 39ms, Maximum = 49ms, Average = 43ms
    Anyone got an idea of the problem? I'm using XP SP1.

  2. #2
    hmm what OS r u using ?

    here's mine

    Code:
    Pinging google.com [216.239.57.99] with 32 bytes of data:
    
    Reply from 216.239.57.99: bytes=32 time=365ms TTL=242
    Reply from 216.239.57.99: bytes=32 time=362ms TTL=242
    Reply from 216.239.57.99: bytes=32 time=357ms TTL=242
    Reply from 216.239.57.99: bytes=32 time=367ms TTL=242
    
    Ping statistics for 216.239.57.99:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 357ms, Maximum = 367ms, Average = 362ms
    weird !

    looks like you need to reinstall TCP/IP

    i found an article on that !

    http://support.microsoft.com/default...uct=winsvr2003

    When you use the ping command, the output displays characters that replace the IP address. For example, output may be similar to the following:
    To resolve this issue, delete the corrupted registry keys, and then reinstall the TCP/IP protocol.

    To delete the corrupted registry keys, follow these steps.
    Steps on site: http://support.microsoft.com/default...uct=winsvr2003

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    813
    Originally posted here by NemorY
    hmm what OS r u using ?
    doh! it was said, XP SP1

    anyway good info

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7
    Humm... looks like what I needed. I just remember I had to reinstall TCP/IP a few days ago after I started to get some of the symptoms described in the MS article, but not the ping problem:

    You may experience one or all of the following symptoms:
    # An error occurred while renewing interface 'Internet': An operation was attempted on something that is not a socket.
    # When you issue the "ipconfig /renew” command, you may receive the following error message: “An error occurred while renewing interface local area connection: an operation was attempted on something that is not a socket. Unable to contact driver Error code 2”
    I guess I will have to do it again. But not now I'm in the middle of something (for more than 24 hours now) and I can't afford to restart. I'll keep you posted if it works.

    Thanx so much Nemory.

    PS: Humm.. Croatian? Interesting.

  5. #5
    doh! it was said, XP SP1

    anyway good info
    Didnt see it at the end .

    Thanx so much Nemory.

    PS: Humm.. Croatian? Interesting.
    You're welcome, and why ?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7
    You're welcome, and why ?
    Well, I happen to like (a lot) a croatian girl, and she is giving me a tough time.

  7. #7
    Croatian girls are usualy harder to get that most american teens. I don't like that very much

    Now, let's get back on topic.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7
    I still haven't restarted my computer. I'm trying hard for 2 days now to salvage a messed up CD... Lot of scratches. I managed to get some data, and I'm gonna give up in the next couple of hours if it can't get any better.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7
    I'm sorry I was offline for a couple of days.

    I tried the fix in MS article, but it didn't work. I also tried another way found here and it didn't work either. I ended up reinstalling XP (repairing actually) and reapplying SP1. Still nothing.

    Thank you anyway. If anyone got some other idea, I'll be thankful.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    620
    I don't know much about networking but I'm gonna give it a shot:

    The link NemorY linked to was for fixing a domain controller. Maybe this means it's not your computer that has to be fixed, but the machine on the network that acts as a domain controller. A domain controller is a server that authenticates domain logons.

    Just a thought. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

    Now if this isn't that case, my next suggestion would be to backup all your important files, then do a format and reinstall.

    Or you could just ignore it. Doesn't seem like it's THAT big of a problem. But I guess that would just be taking the easy way out and you wouldn't learn anything.

    mjk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •