C++ help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: C++ help

C++ help

Hey guys:

I've been studying programming on-and-off for almost a year now, so... I'm a total newb. I need some help. I was wondering if u guys had any suggestion on a good C++ book I could get

Also, part of the reason I'm not "getting it" so fast is that I cannot practice on a compiler (all the freeware one's I've gotten are crappy). It's always some stupid technicality with the headers (one's not present, not working, won't compile, ect..ect..) Do you guys know of any easy one?
    \"I ONLY DRINK THE BLOOD OF MY ENEMIES....and maybe a strawberry yoohoo....and a...Pina Co-la-da!...
    If you like pina coladas....ugh!, gettin\' caught in the rain....ugh!\"

Eh, the gnu compiler for C and C++ is free....you need to run linux though, I dunno if you can run it under cygwin, I don't think so, but I may be wrong, probably am. I use both gcc and VC++, the VC app cost a few bucks, but I got it at my college's bookstore at a discount...compilers are funny...some will require a '.h', and some won't...some will need you to use std, and some won't...some will accept iostream, and some want you to use 'primative', older methods...I do remember a thread on DJCPP, though, might want to search for it, I think it's free. As far as books go, everyone has their preference of course, I like Jamsa's programmer's bible....it covers C and C++, and lets you see the difference, and advancement of the compiler....it'll set you back about 50 bucks, but imo, it's worth it....it comes with a simple compiler as well...otherwise, you can always download perl and play with it, you'll still learn the basics structure of things...

Heh, actually, looks like cygwin comes with gcc, my bad...
    Every now and then, one of you won't annoy me.

Antionline Herpetologist