How can i trace someone? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: How can i trace someone?

  1. #11
    BS, EnCE, ACE, Cellebrite 11001001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Just West of Beantown, though nobody from Beantown actually calls it "Beantown."
    Posts
    1,228
    I thought JupM was in Connecticut...

    http://www.antionline.com/tools-and-...ress=127.0.0.1
    That's Officer 11001001 to you...
    Now you see me | Now you don't
    "Relax, Bender; It was just a dream. There's no such thing as two." ~ Fry
    sometimes my computer goes down on me
    Share on Google+

  2. #12
    Senior Member Info Tech Geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Vernon, CT
    Posts
    828
    Originally posted here by SexyBadGirl
    You're such a bumbling ****. First of all what if you're on a private internal address? Second, if you're not, you'll just get the location of the ISP (mentioned above). Third of all, that tool is a peice of ****. I just ran it, and ME being in SACRAMENTO, CA. The thing showed me being in NY.

    My sincerest dislike,
    Quad
    It was a JOKE..
    Share on Google+

  3. #13
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    (You) at host xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx are located in Amsterdam, Netherlands.




    Wrong city, wrong country, at least 300miles out!

    I must try it when running my "Steganos Internet Anonym 5".................that dances through proxy servers all over the planet

    Cheers
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?
    Share on Google+

  4. #14
    King Arana: Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    4,055
    Yeh, that AO locator thing is off by mile's.

    If you were to use the DOS command tracert IPAddress you could probably get a pretty good idea of where they are located though just by reading the router names.
    Yeah, that does give a pretty good idea of where the user is. However and as previously stated, it's not possible to pinpoint an exact location. And considering you'll have situation's like nihil's where he bounce's it through proxies all over the world then you'll never be able to "fully" track someone.
    Space For Rent.. =]
    Share on Google+

  5. #15
    T3h Ch3F
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    716

    Euro Cup

    Originally posted here by nihil
    (You) at host xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx are located in Amsterdam, Netherlands.



    -Off topic


    After this week, I guess I'd rather be from Portugal.
    Get some good religion from Bad Religion.
    Share on Google+

  6. #16
    Macht Nicht Aus moxnix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Huson Mt.
    Posts
    1,752
    Originally posted here by nihil
    (You) at host xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx are located in Amsterdam, Netherlands.
    h
    Dagnabit-----I want to be in Amsterdam. Channal Street......W00t !!! (sp.?)
    \"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand - strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO - What a Ride!\"
    Author Unknown
    Share on Google+

  7. #17
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Shhhhhhhhhh Mox~, don't let my wife find out............

    I am still in Amsterdam.................tracert thinks that I am in Manchester, which is still 90 miles out. My wife thinks I am in our living room

    killem all, a couple of points that I did not make:

    1. The internet is designed for computers to electronically communicate with eachother...........geographical or physical location is pretty irrelevant in that situation, so was never factored into the design..

    2. Tools such as tracert will stop at the ISP node, which is usually Manchester in my case, but not always. I connect through my telephone exchange, and at that level the traceability is nonexistent.

    OK my ISP knows that I have connected to them, and that it is via my telephone line, and they know where I live.........but all that info. is in their accounting/billing systems, not in the internet services part.

    If I use 56.6 dial up, the situation is similar............they know that a connection has been made from a telephone line that is at a particular location, thge ISP have my account details, but this is again separate from the internet services side of their business.

    If someone uses a proxy, you won't even get a meaningful IP address.

    Hope that answers your question?

    A final thought...............if it were that easy, there wouldn't be any spammers, DDoS attacks or child pornographers would there?

    Cheers
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?
    Share on Google+

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    813
    So to continue on nihil's post, what you want to do is:

    1. get their IP and a timestamp
    2. trace to the ISP node
    3. apply time zone changes to get the timestamp in the ISPs zone
    4. hack into the ISP
    5. navigate up to the system logs
    6. grep the logs with the IP and time [depending on the format]
    7. find the username or MAC add
    8. navigate into their billing system
    9. connect the MAC or username to a person's real name and get their add

    p.s. anywhere between 4 and 9 the guide might be stopped abruptly. at that point the steps to take become

    n. make your ONE telephone call to a close relative
    n+1. wait for a court to decide if you're going to get 5 or 10 years, and how much money you're in debt to the state.

    but hey! it could be done...
    /\\
    Share on Google+

  9. #19
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hypronix...............you man of little faith you

    I just e-mailed the Steganos outfit in Germany and got a full product code for Internet Anonym 5 (it is a freebie off a magazine cover CD, but you need to register it)

    I just tried out InfoTechGeek's link with it activated..................in the space of about 3 minutes I had used the following proxies:

    Seoul - South Korea
    Milton, NSW - Australia
    Amsterdam - Netherlands (I seem to keep going there )
    Oklahoma City
    Louisville, Colorado
    Santa Clara, California
    Charlotte, North Carolina

    And a Brasilian proxy that the tool seemed to think was located around Ayers Rock in central Australia

    The AO site doesn't like it though, I got bounced twice...........but they do warn you that some sites cannot handle the rapid changes of proxy.

    It does slow down response times quite a lot, but is supposed to have some sort of AI algorithm so that it drops slow proxies from its list after a while?

    I will have to do some more testing, as it could be a solution for people with fixed IP addys?

    Sorry for wandering a bit off topic, but "little things please little minds"

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?
    Share on Google+

  10. #20
    nihil:
    i've downloaded a copy of Steganos Internet Anonym Pro (6.08) and although i have to agree with you on the bouncing thing, somehow when i run it, and do a tracert to, let's say google.com, it just has the normal route, not via the proxies, so why doesn't it work with tracert, and this also get's me wondering if it is so save

    another thing worth thinking:
    my girl likes to play online games, so she wanted to load the page while SIA was installed but not running, and it was so f**king slow!
    after i uninstalled the program, my normal connection returned....

    so somehow, if the program isn't running, it still affects your connection

    a program that i used to use about a year ago was Stealth Anonymizer 2.7, and this did work well with the above problems, BUT, you would have to give it the list of proxies yourself, and it needed at least 2 active proxies (which are very hard to find!) to get into stealth mode, let alone super stealth!
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides