Wireless Beowulf Cluster

Thread: Wireless Beowulf Cluster

Wireless Beowulf Cluster

I am a broke college student and think beowulf clusters are awesome! I wish I had the money, space, time to make one. I came across this site talking about wireless clusters.
    Since I will probably never get to work with them in real life, I was wondering if anybody here has had experience with them? If so, I am really jealous and I would love to hear any stories you may have.
    I believe in making the world safe for our children, but not our childrenís children, because I donít think children should be having sex. -- Jack Handey

ive never built a cluster, but ive been tempted ive got assorted computer bits scattered all over the place and should get around to connecting it all together.

Ive used a cluster for some image processing work that ive done which took about 4+hrs to complete to my laptop.

Ive also been tempted to try the bootable cluster project and take over a computer lab at night and use the bootable disks to create a cluster there.

I dont no whether you just want to get some experience at building a cluster or whether your just in it for the speed, but 486's and pent 1's can be had for pennys now a days so you could build one with them? have a look here...http://www.zorg.org/projects/cluster.shtml

i2c

BANNED
    Here's a good little read on what seems like a pretty good plan for a cluster. I originally saw it posted as an extra little tidbit on someone's post on here so I'm not trying to take credit for finding it.
    http://www.cacr.caltech.edu/beowulf/.../building.html
    When death sleeps it dreams of you...

As i2c, said, if you can get your hands on some throw away 486's, then check out ClusterKnoppix

quote:
    No cdrom drive/harddisk/floppy needed for the clients
    openMosix autodiscovery - new nodes automatically join the cluster (no configuration needed)

http://bofh.be/clusterknoppix/