problem in windows 2000
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: problem in windows 2000

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    26

    problem in windows 2000

    ours is a computer training centre,we h've a net connection to win 2000 server..w've problem that is after exactly 1hour it is bieng disconnected...it is giving an error code 1450...the system is very very slow..when we checked out the task manager then the process named "system" is using 99% of the cpu..plz help in this

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    What does the eventlog tell you?
    Are you sure it's not 99% Idle?

    What's the patchlevel? Any anti-virus? Firewall?
    Anything else running on that machine?

    How much memory does the machine have? How much freespace on the harddrive?

    1450 usually refers to the system running out of resources.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    421
    Is the diskspace low on the system drive of that machine?
    Even a couple hundred megs can be LOW depending on the system.

    Perhaps something is running once per hour and killing the connection...
    Check AT or other schedule windows scheduled tasks.

    Did you virusscan?
    Spyware scan?

    Do you have any strange services running?

    What patch level are you running?

    If you disconnect the Ethernet for an hour, does the problem go away?

    The devil is usually in the details. Your post didnt have many...

  4. #4
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    To follow on from the previous posts:
    Sometimes parts fail
    it is possible that you have some faulty memory, or that a HDD is failing.

    I'm assuming that as a training centre, you are up 24/7 ?

    Run some tests over the system to determine the status.
    [if the disc space is low] defrag ?

    re-post with the required details, and good luck.
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  5. #5
    How old is the computer?
    What is the processor speed?

  6. #6
    Hoopy Frood
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    662

    Re: problem in windows 2000

    Originally posted here by ramforu
    ours is a computer training centre,we h've a net connection to win 2000 server..w've problem that is after exactly 1hour it is bieng disconnected...it is giving an error code 1450...the system is very very slow..when we checked out the task manager then the process named "system" is using 99% of the cpu..plz help in this
    Run Antivirus and Spyware scans. The Sasser Worm (http://securityresponse.symantec.com...oval.tool.html
    Symantec Security Response - W32.Sasser Removal Tool) will infect Windows 2000 computers although it doesn't generally do what it was designed to do. (I believe it opened backdoors on Windows XP only.) However, on all the other Windows Operating systems, I believe it will eat up CPU usuage and network bandwidth because it's trying to spread itself. Possibly this may be the slow side of the computer? Just a thought.
    "Personality is only ripe when a man has made the truth his own."

    -- Søren Kierkegaard

  7. #7
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    What sort of connection to the server do you have?

    This may sound foolish but some systems may cut the connection after a set period of time.......this is your ISP/Telco..............if it does not detect traffic, it thinks that you have left the phone off the hook?

    Ask them about it



    errrrrrr..................Blaster and such cut you off after about 60 SECONDS, not minutes

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    460
    it may not be blaster, but rather one of the gaobots.... it makes the systems run out of resources quite quickly

    please post the information requested (in the posts above this one)

    also, have you rune baseline on the systems -- are the passwords being used "weak" or able to be found in a virus password list for example, gaobot has about 60-something passwords it attempts to use IIRC
    [gloworange]find / -name \"*your_base*\" -exec chown us:us {} \\;[/gloworange] [glowpurple]Trust No One[/glowpurple][shadow] Use Hardened Gentoo [/shadow]
    CATAPULTAM HABEO. NISI PECUNIAM OMNEM MIHI DABIS, AD CAPUT TUUM SAXUM IMMANE MITTAM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •