Dual OS
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Dual OS

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    12

    Question Dual OS

    hey everone will i have a P4 HT 2.8 with a IC7-MAX-3(MOB) and i have a 40GB and a 80GB hard drives.Right now i have XP running on my box i have a linux 9.0 on disk.I wanted to have XP and RedHat 9.0 (linux) on my box.how can i do that.Are there any programs i need to get this wotking ?
    The Laughing Man

  2. #2
    Ok i would suggest that you could maybe read 2 tutorials that will answer your questions.
    My guide to re-partitioning, re-formatting, and re-installing

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=258223

    And Computernerds tutorial on
    How to create a dual boot operating system for a new PC.

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=259176

    And if you need further assistance then i'd be more then willing to help..

    cheers
    F2B:.

  3. #3
    AO Decepticon CXGJarrod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,038
    Most commercial linux distro's can partition the drive for you. No work on your part involved. You shouldnt need to reformat the machine. However, backup your data on another hard drive if possible, because you might run into problems.
    N00b> STFU i r teh 1337 (english: You must be mistaken, good sir or madam. I believe myself to be quite a good player. On an unrelated matter, I also apparently enjoy math.)

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    12
    on red hat 9.0 it can find my wireless G card. i not internet
    The Laughing Man

  5. #5
    look here for more info on wireless with redhat 9.0

  6. #6
    T3h 1337 N00b kryptonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Seattle, Washington.
    Posts
    523
    Do a dual partition. RH9 will do that for you during setup. You can then install a boot loader (i recommend lilo) and choose which OS to boot to.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    12
    ahahha thanks. just delete both of my hard drives and how i have my win 2000 on my 80GB hard drive and my 40 GB is going to be 4 date and other thinkings like programmings.going back home later day and and get that red hat in the same 80 GB hard drive. so i 'll see how this goes!!!!!!
    The Laughing Man

  8. #8
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    Make sure to put windows on the first partition of the first masterdrive. It doesn't like to be ran over.

    Greetz,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    12
    hey thanks guys 4 the help i got it working thanks 4 your guys help
    The Laughing Man

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •