Service Database Lock
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Service Database Lock

  1. #1
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126

    Service Database Lock

    I have a WinNT 4 SP4a Fully Patched Server. I been having some problem with some service. When I want to go change the StartUp Option of a service, I get a error message : The Service Database is locked.. (See Image)

    Anyone got hint?
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  2. #2
    AO Decepticon CXGJarrod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,038
    Have you tried something like this?

    http://www.jsiinc.com/SUBC/tip1000/rh1081.htm

    And why havent you updated to SP6 for NT? Custom apps?
    N00b> STFU i r teh 1337 (english: You must be mistaken, good sir or madam. I believe myself to be quite a good player. On an unrelated matter, I also apparently enjoy math.)

  3. #3
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    I'm not the one who decided in the company. I'm just the technician who executes and maintain the server and workstation on a day to day to base. I have no power to force management to change (I hope they allow us before January 2005)
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  4. #4
    AO Decepticon CXGJarrod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,038
    Originally posted here by SDK
    I'm not the one who decided in the company. I'm just the technician who executes and maintain the server and workstation on a day to day to base. I have no power to force management to change (I hope they allow us before January 2005)
    That makes sence. Did it work for you?
    N00b> STFU i r teh 1337 (english: You must be mistaken, good sir or madam. I believe myself to be quite a good player. On an unrelated matter, I also apparently enjoy math.)

  5. #5
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    I'm gonna try it today. The problem is... Well, I'm stuck on doing test a BDC who DHCP/Print Server. That mean I cannot reboot that often.

    But I cannot complain about my company, for the experience this job give me in all aspect of computer support for my age/education/prior experience, I would do anything .
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  6. #6
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    I just look at the link. It does tell me how to change the startup type of my service but I was allready able to do that with registry hacking. I also remember that I could connect from Computer Management from my Xp Machine to change those setting also. I'm gonna have to play more with that! *sigh*
    -Simon \"SDK\"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •