Networking Basics
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Networking Basics

Networking Basics

Hello guys.
    i am relatively new to the networking basics, and here i need ur kowledge, i am running win XP and a ADSL modem, which are running fine, noe i have another computer with win 2000, to which i want to provide internet, may be through some proxy, i have downloaded a proxy from www.analogx.com, but i do not know how to configure TCP/IP, and i do not know how to and what IP address to assign and where.
    I wonder if someone can help me with it.
    Thanks for your time ad patience.
    Regards
    Harbir

Since your main computer (the one with the internet connection) is Windows XP, why don't you use the wizard provided.

Go to 'Control Panel', then to 'Network Setup Wizard', then follow the prompts for sharing an internet connection.

Your best bet though, would be to purchase a router and connect both computers to it, and let it be your gateway to the internet. Then you have the added protection of a hardware firewall that the router provides.
    \"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand - strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO - What a Ride!\"
    Author Unknown

yeah I agree with moxnix, your best bet is to spend $50 and buy a linksys router. Easiest thing to do.
    =

Actually ICS blows chunks, go with router/firewall idea.

peace
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson