snmpd on Nokia Box
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: snmpd on Nokia Box

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    177

    snmpd on Nokia Box

    Hi all, i've been minitoring a nokia box (checkpoint firewall) with mrtg for 3 months with any problem. In the last two days i've really strange results in mrtg. it seems that the snmpd is not able to respond to the querys, when i make an snmpget i get the results for 1 of 10 querys aprox.

    i restarted snmpd several times but it still doesn't work. anybody can help me?

    i think that this boxes run some kind of FreeBSD...

    thank you!

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401

    Re: snmpd on Nokia Box

    Originally posted here by DerekK
    i think that this boxes run some kind of FreeBSD...
    Not really. Nokia Checkpoint runs IPSO which is loosely base on very old (2.x) *BSD code.

    Log on the nokia and do a tcpdump to see what's going on.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    177
    But when i launch a query it has a timeout, i think that the thing is that the snmpd is not responding.. . Do you think that i'll see something with tcpdump?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,130
    ooops. if u r getting responses (but at too low rate) snmpd is working (prolly).
    - That nokia box is answering "pings" at a satisfatory rate?
    - are you experiencing some kind of "slow down" on connections thru that box?
    - segments between MRTG and FW are ok (no congestion, etc)?
    It looks:
    a) box overload or
    b) network overload

    with a sniffer, you can see at least if packets are arriving at FW interface...
    Meu sítio

    FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    177
    Yes, i didin't think about it. I will check the segments until the box, it's connected to a Gigabit switch (i forced the port to 10 Mbps) but maybe the Gigabit traffic in the other ports is slowing the response in that port.... I will check out and i'll tell you....

    Thanks a lot!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    177
    Hi, i've been testing the net. Looking at statistics (MRTG, switch own statistics, etc) it doesn't seem to be any problem. This is a 100 1300 bytes packets ping:

    100 packets transmitted, 100 received, 0% loss, time 99196ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 1.758/2.080/3.664/0.403 ms


    Actually i don't have the problem anymore, the last two days MRTG is working ok.

    Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •