Anyone used Zone Labs Antivirus?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Anyone used Zone Labs Antivirus?

  1. #1

    Anyone used Zone Labs Antivirus?

    I was thinking of trying the Anti virus that comes with Zone Alarm. but I want to get your opinions first on it. Did anyone try it, and is it any good?
    Neon Security

    It\'s time to put an end to malicious code & black hat hackers - Use a firewall and anti virus!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    arn't they including avg in their package?
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    4,055
    Heh, never tried Zone Lab's A/V system. If it's anything like it's firewall, consider it second rate . Look into it and download it. Compare it to some of the other more popular A/V program's out there such as Norton, McAfee, etc etc and see what you like and what work's best with you.
    Space For Rent.. =]

  4. #4
    Priapistic Monk KorpDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,628
    Noooooo!!!!!!! ZA doing AV??? hahahahaa!!!! I love being a consultant.....more money for me. Anybody feel the same?

    (a little drunk?)
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson

  5. #5
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    I think that Tedob1 is right, and that it is "bundled" AVG. I say this because it seems to moan about any other make of AV apart from AVG..................tells you it is obsolete, needs updating and so on

    But it doesn't say anything if you already have AVG.

    I am a little cautious about having "all my eggs in one basket" and these all singing, all dancing security packages.

    just my take on it

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    386
    I did some snooping since I was fooling around with the trial ZA firewall. I got rid of it and went back to my regular.

    The AV interested me and I, after a LOT of hunting on the zonelabs site, found reference to ETrust as being the antivirus. I think, but not certain, that it's the EZ version of ETrust. If that's the case, forget it. I tried ETrust EZ and ended up with several viruses. Fortunately, I still have a license to Kaspersky and am back with their AV. ZoneAlarm=2nd rate. EZantivirus=2nd rate (both IMHO).

  7. #7
    Thanks for the response guys. I decided to try Avast! Heard it works pretty well.

    I had AVG before, and it missed two trojan horses, so I got rid of it. Then I tried AntiVir, it was pretty good until they made some modifications to the engine so it would access localhost or something like that, and my firewall always had traffic on it, and that was pretty irritating.

    I'll stick with Avast, it works pretty well and doesn't use up a lot of memory.
    Neon Security

    It\'s time to put an end to malicious code & black hat hackers - Use a firewall and anti virus!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    460
    speaking of free antivirus solutions -- does anyone know what happened to the free version of sophos (not the 30 day trial, but the one more like avg)?

    also avast! is not as good as avg:
    proof:
    http://www.virusbtn.com/vb100/archives/tests.xml?200406
    [gloworange]find / -name \"*your_base*\" -exec chown us:us {} \\;[/gloworange] [glowpurple]Trust No One[/glowpurple][shadow] Use Hardened Gentoo [/shadow]
    CATAPULTAM HABEO. NISI PECUNIAM OMNEM MIHI DABIS, AD CAPUT TUUM SAXUM IMMANE MITTAM

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    386
    I'm not sure whether this link will work. If it does it's for the ETrust server edition (still free). It uses 2 engines, the inoculateit and Vet. One can be set for real time, the other for scans, updates daily or more, and is a good freebie. It takes some time to set up, but with 2 scan engines, it'll catch almost everything. IF THE LINK WORKS.

    http://etrustantivirus-east.ca.com/v7/

    *edit* after loading, be sure to update since it's a year out of date. This is a server (enterprise) edition but works very well on a desktop, is relatively easy on resources, and is light years ahead of ETrust EZ, which does nothing in my opinion.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    274
    Yes i have tried the anti virus bundled with zonelabs security suite but it was not working as norton does and femot worm slips in my system therfore i decided to go back norton and still using zone alarms firewall.

    Thanks
    Excuse me, is there an airport nearby large enough for a private jet to land?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •