fdisk on xp
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: fdisk on xp

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4

    fdisk on xp

    I have a lap top with only cdrom input. I want to format the hard drive. How do I boot from the cdrom with xp?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,325
    Go into your BIOS (look for the setup option when you first power up after the POST) and set your CDRom to be the first boot device. save your settings and reboot.

    When it asks you if you want to boot from CDRom, press enter, or whatever command it tells you.

    You can then setup a new install, delete or create partitions.
    Follow the instructions.

    Though, XP doesn't have an fdisk option AFAIK.

    Maybe from the recovery console... but you're better off just using the utilties they include.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4
    phishphreek80
    If I boot from the cdrom don't I need a disk with a boot?

  4. #4
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,325
    As long as your system will support it.. you should not need floppy disks... if thats what you're asking.

    Just make sure the CD is bootable. XP setup CDs are bootable.

    If your laptop is too old... it might not support booting to CD.

    You have to check your settings in the BIOS.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  5. #5
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    Windows Xp uses Disk part commands

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4
    phishphreek80
    That must be my problem, I can't boot from the cdrom. I have a setup disk, but it is not recognized as a boot disk. I'll see if I can borrow a floppy drive.


    Thanks

  7. #7
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    Before you do that check the cd for dust and scratches 9 times out of 10 cleaning the CD makes the cd drive read it and makes it boot.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4
    OK

  9. #9
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    724
    Just a thought it may be a dumb thought but... you may wanna compare your system to the system requiremtents for XP. It seems to me that if your computer is old and won't boot from disk it might not meet the requirements anyway.
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;314865
    When death sleeps it dreams of you...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •