Ssh Tutorial Help

Thread: Ssh Tutorial Help

Ssh Tutorial Help

If this is the wrong place to post this please point me in the right direction.

I have read about ssh tunneling and have dl'd putty.exe. I have read its tutorials, but I still don't know how to get it to work with a p2p program (I use winmx).
    Is this a subscription thing? I have no idea what I am going to put in the 'host' panel. And yes I have never done tunneling before, so I could I appreciate any help.

SSH is a remote means of connecting to a computer through an encrypted connection the port runs on 22. So wtf you trying to do with winMX
    By the sacred **** of the sacred psychedelic tibetan yeti ....We\'ll smoke the chinese out
    The 20th century pharoes have the slaves demanding work
    http://muaythaiscotland.com/

Antionline's Security Dude instronics's Avatar
    ssh = secure shell. Its a client and server application, mainly used to connecto to another computer which is running an ssh daemon using an ssh client. Its mainly used for administration, file transfer (scp/sftp) or just to connect to another box with an encrypted connection. To use other applications within an encrypted tunnel, there are tools, such as 'stunnel', or 'CIPE' and many others. You would have to know if winmx can work within an encrypted environment. Its not enough if your side is encrypted, the other side has to understand and be able to use the encrypted tunnel aswell. Check the help pages for winmx and see if they have a solution for this. Hmm, since its p2p, in order to use a tunnel, the other side must have the same tunnel running on his machine. I dont think it do-able, but check the documentation on winmx.

Cheers.
    Ubuntu-: Means in African : "Im too dumb to use Slackware"

Well instronics gave a better answer than me take his advice
    By the sacred **** of the sacred psychedelic tibetan yeti ....We\'ll smoke the chinese out

I was adviced by other senior members