Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Computer Forensics Career

Computer Forensics Career

Hello all,

I am new to the security field, as you can tell by my name. I am currently working as a web server administrator, and I have about 4 1/2 years of I.T experience. I also have a B.S in Computer Info Sys. I am very interested in moving into the computer forensics field, and I have thought about pursuing a M.S in Information Security, but I'm not sure it would be worth the money. The program is very expensive and, I don't have any forensics experience. I have also thought about becoming a certified law enforcement officer, but not to become a police, just to have a law enforcement background. Do you all think it would be wise to just go for some entry- level certs and maybe get certified in law enforcement V.S M.S in Info Security?

Computer Forensics career rocks, but is not like "C.S.I." show. Its pretty boring almost the time.
    I would like a Master degree in Security. But, to help you better, could you post here College Name and a link to the M.S. course? Will help a lot to make a comparision with "tech" courses...
    Meu sítio

FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

Nova Southeastern

The program is at nova southeastern. They are supposed to be certified by the NSA, But I don't see the school listed as one of the schools of excellence. This maybe because they just got started this summer. Anyway, here is the site. http://www.scis.nova.edu/

Ive read MSIS curriculum on that site.

I think is too generic. Too basic concepts and too few "sec" classes. maybe it was designed for I.T. people.

If you a good knowledge of I.S., skip it (for forensinc career)

Instead, seek out for a CISSP or try to go deeper into:

- networking;
    - programming (including ASM)
    - investigation methods
    Meu sítio