Thread: Physical Security/Wireless Camera

Physical Security/Wireless Camera

I'm an IT tech/security guy at a small chain of retail stores. We have reason to believe some employees have been stealing merchandise. We currently have a CCTV system set up inside the stores but not in the storage areas. The computer that's controlling the CCTV system can handle more cameras, so we're probably going to be putting more cameras in those back areas.

Here's my question, though... the "Big Boss" wants to monitor the outside of the building in our primary store. He specifically wants cameras on the dumpster out back so he can see if someone is dumping inventory in there during the day and then coming back at night and fishing it out. There's simply too much activity in those back rooms to be able to really tell if someone takes an extra box out with during the day, so the dumpster watching approach makes sense.

Because of the lease on the building, we are unable to drill holes in the side of the building to mount a camera or to run cables (coax and power). My first inclination is to find a wireless and solar powered camera/webcam that we could mount on the roof and point down a the dumpster. I have googled for such a device without much luck. Anyone have any experience/recomendations for a device like this? We also need to be able to archive the video so we can review it every morning.

Thanks in advance!

HQ

Did you look at:

http://www.x10.com/home/offer.cgi?!PFAST,../x10search7.htm

That looks like a good deal.

Take a look at this one as well:

http://www.pakatak.co.uk/camera/camera.htm

Cheers.

AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Might I suggest that a padlock for the dumpster might be cheaper. The manager can put it on when staff leave and re-open it at opening time.
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....