Computers are "auto-logging off" of network? (mod title change)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Computers are "auto-logging off" of network? (mod title change)

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    137

    network log

    i already started my business (internet cafe)
    but the problem of mine is this the network is logging off!!
    i have a 30 wortkstations.
    the 15 workstations is for the online gaming
    and the other remaining 15 is for the internet use only
    i use a 1 router
    in allworkstations they all have a same specs (intel celeron 1.7 ghz,128 mb SDRAm,32 MB inno,100 mbps Realtek NIC,)
    my internet speed is 313 kilobits and i think its enough and im a using a NOKIA cable modem
    pls. help im having a hard time to analyze
    whats the possible casuse of this logging off especially when they are playing the online gaming.
    thanks guys and GOD Bless you always
    i need a suggestions regarding my business pls. help

  2. #2
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    Can you explain what you mean by "the network logging off". Do you mean that the internet connection keeps dropping? If so, what is the frequency, (every minute, 5 minutes, hour or is it utterly random? If it is relatively frequent I would start by issuing this command:-

    ping -n 1000 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    Where the x's represent the IP address DNS server of your ISP, (might as well inconvenience them), and by pinging thier DNS server if it times out you can show that the isuue is entirely withing their network.

    Is the connection T1, DSL, Cable or what?
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    137
    LAN
    im using a DSL connection!
    im having a problem regarding my netwrok it drops
    when my customers play the playonline
    especially the gun bond,ragnarok,MU online gaming my network is dropping
    every 15 minutes when my 10 gaming stations uses a online gaming
    what will i do?

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Did you contact your ISP? Maybe they can monitor your connection from their side.

    im a using a NOKIA cable modem
    im using a DSL connection!
    Now I'm confused
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    Have you tried the ping -n yet. Keep doing it and see if the connectivity fails. If it does then change the IP address to the address of the default gateway for the network, (the DSL network not your own LAN), and see if it drops. If it does then you need to call the ISP and reqest that they get you a new modem. I had a similar situation about 6 months ago at home. After troubleshooting it for an inordinate amount of time we determined that the modem was faulty. After it was change it has been pretty much rock solid ever since.

    [Edit]

    SirDice: I saw that too but thought I shouldn't "rock the boat" at this point....

    [/Edit]
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,130
    hummmmm
    the link b/w apparently to hold the load of that games.
    when you say "network drops" you mean all stations loose connection to internet at same time? When "game" stations loose connection, "internet" stations loose too?

    Even on a overload, it probably wont gonna happen.

    you need a basic network troubleshooting.

    start with Tiger' advice and post here what you got.
    Meu sítio

    FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    137
    how will change the Ip address of the default gateway for the network(DSL)?
    what will i do regarding this default gateway addrss will ask my dsl provider to change the gateway settings or i will make a trial and error!!!
    help pls. regarding this problem

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    137
    my network still drops
    i tried to ping my ip address
    it goes something like this

    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    and a hundred's of this

    and at the last it says something like this
    Ping statistics for 222.126.20.130
    Packets: sent=1,000, Recieved=1,000, Lost=0 <0% loss>,
    approxiamate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    minimum=0ms, Maximum=1ms, Average=0ms

    and that's it!!!!!!
    but still mt network is logging !!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member BrainStop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    295

    What kind of games?

    Hi jin,

    Just a couple of quick questions to try to clarify this:

    - What kind of online games are being played? Are they heavy on bandwidth?

    - When you say "auto-logging off", do you mean that the players get kicked out of their games, or that you have to bring your link back up?

    - From the looks of those response times, are you pinging your modem from one of the PCs or are you pinging the gateway of your ISP?

    Depending on the type of online games, 313 kbit/s is not very much for 10-15 PCs all using it at the same time.

    Just a thought ...

    Cheers,

    BrainStop
    "To estimate the time it takes to do a task, estimate the time you think it should take, multiply by two, and change the unit of measure to the next highest unit. Thus we allocate two days for a one-hour task." -- Westheimer's Rule

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    281
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 222.126.20.130:bytes=32 times<1ms TTL=150
    and a hundred's of this

    and at the last it says something like this
    Ping statistics for 222.126.20.130
    Packets: sent=1,000, Recieved=1,000, Lost=0 <0% loss>,
    approxiamate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    minimum=0ms, Maximum=1ms, Average=0ms
    This means that your have successfully pinged a whatever computer that IP address belongs to.

    Have you told you Internet Service Providers (ISP) what you are going to be using there line for. They could be seeing you using large amounts of bandwidth and then shutting you off.

    Another question was how are the IP's distributed? Are have Dynamic or Static?

    - MilitantEidolon
    Yeah thats right........I said It!

    Ultimately everyone will have their own opinion--this is mine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •