am i being hacked???
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: am i being hacked???

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    6

    am i being hacked???

    Hi all,
    I've been running XP-Pro for a couple of months now without any security updates installed, I am connected to the net via a broad band modem which is generally connected 24/7 - 'as i download a lot using Kazaa lite'
    The other day my whole system seemed to slow down and as both my anti virus programs could not find any viruses on the system i started to worry a bit - thinking - could be a hacker???
    I have zone alarm fire wall, AVG anti virus, and just recently installed Norton-2003 full package.
    I have now installed the security updates and my system is very usable but seems to be just as slow, I initially did not install the security up dates as i remember the last time that i installed them it seemed to slow the system down.
    Can anyone please inform me on the following -

    Have i made a grave error by not installing them initially, and what are the chances of been hacked?

    Am i right in thinking that these updates slow the system down when installed?

    How can i check to see if there are, or has been any hacking going on

    If i have been hacked, would i have been too late by installing the updates after a hacker has had access to my system?

    Go easy on any tech-stuff! im very new to all of this

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks

    skylark

  2. #2
    Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,407
    Did it start slowing down when you installed Norton? It may just be that Norton requires a lot of resources which takes away from speed on other processes. As for if you've been hacked, probably not if you've been running your firewall and it's properly configured, but you never know. Just keep an eye out for anything weird. Peace.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    6

    me again

    Forgot to mention, im using ad-aware 6, i dont know if it is just me being paranoid, but recently it does not find any were as many spyware bugs as it used to. Could this be any thing to worry about?
    thanks again
    skylark

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    149
    Doesn't sound like a good way to surf the net, or safe.
    Hey, i get me a chance to promote my tut.
    You might want to read through this tutorial

    And also the other's on securing windows. Mine is a very basic one, and shouldn't be at
    all too technical to understand.

    Will post some links for online scanners,when i get, be back soon.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for the reply,
    i think it was before i installed norton, but i will uninstall it and see if it makes a difference.
    about the actual security updates, is it necessary (wise) for them to be installed, and by having them does it make a difference to the speed of things or would this just my imagination

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    149
    How much RAM have you got?
    How many services are running in the background?
    How many of them are you using, can you turn some off?


    It is better to have a slow machine than one that stops completely.
    I would say surfing the net without AV, Firewall, would be like driving a
    car at 200mph (americans) round ocean cliffs with no hands! Don't do it!

    online scanners

    http://www.symantec.com/cgi-bin/securitycheck.cgi

    http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/licence.php

    http://www.pandasoftware.com/actives...f=EN-PR-AS-107

    http://www.kaspersky.com/scanforvirus

    Try these to see if anythings on your box that shouldn't be.....

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for all the info....
    I enabled xp built in fire wall, and ive downloaded spybot
    Ive got - 768 ram
    services running - 44, but i dont know what i can and cannot turn off
    ive got AVG and Norton at the mo.. and my fire wall is Zone alarm.
    Is this sufficient to protect my computer, or is it vital that i have the xp security updates too.

  8. #8
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Yes, it's wise to install security updates when available.
    Unfortunately sometimes a patch gets released that will slow down your system. This is usually fixed some time later if MS receives alot of complaints about it.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    149
    You MUST have all the critical updates installed. Have you updated
    any security updates from M$????? If not best you do. Also if you are
    using Internet Explorer ,DONT download Mozilla instead.
    Is that 768 MB of RAM??

    For your Services that you can change/disable, go to

    blackviper

    I have virtually done what is recommended there, and have not noticed any
    problems at all.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    6
    its 768 MB's
    what is Mozilla, and why should i not use it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •