Thread: Am i beingh Hacked ?

Exclamation Am i beingh Hacked ?

Hi,
    I use Norton Internet Security suit professional version 2004. today is the first time my IDS is showing me that a computer with ip 211.18.165.69 (detail's in the attached file). Although I have blocked the computer's IP still the number of times it has attacked me has gone up to 1726 times. In the attached file I have included DNS and other important information. I am new to Security please help me in what should be my next step. I feel its a scan mostly a Nmap because the connection on certain service ports were scanned with a SYN stealth scan signature but i am not sure at all like i said i am new to this field and my knowledge is near to nil.

Contact the hosting ISP and complain. If that doesn't work and the "attacks" are truly affecting your internet connection then contact your ISP to get your IP changed. As far as the question, am I being hacked? Probably not, it's probably some lil' kid in Japan trying out a scanner. In all honesty if they were a real threat, they'd already have the script to crash Norton and they'd have already done it.

There is allot of noise on the internet and sometimes even good IDS's give false positives. (And I'm not saying Norton is a good IDS by any means.) So just be prepared for a whole lot of false positives.

If you are truly from India then you'll see quite allot of scans and such, people just feeling around and trying new toys. This is coming from someone who had to support a satellite office in India for 4 years, not fun.
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson