Connection Problem
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Connection Problem

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    154

    Connection Problem

    ok i just bought a new computer and i want to hook it up to my internet. I have roadrunner, (cable modem) and all i did was dissconnect it from my old computer and connect it to my new computer. It wont connect.....under network connections, in status it says connected, but i cant get on the internet (cant ping cant get on erinet, nothing). I tried repairing it and all it says failed to renew ip address.....btw im using Windows Xp

    Any suggestions????

  2. #2
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Use the 'Internet connection wizard'

    In W2K R/clk 'my network places' on your desktop.
    click on properties.
    click on 'make new connection'.

    Do you have the correct drivers on your new box ?
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  3. #3
    Regal Making Handler
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,668
    Install the drivers and software that came with your cable modem for your old box.
    What happens if a big asteroid hits the Earth? Judging from realistic simulations involving a sledge hammer and a common laboratory frog, we can assume it will be pretty bad. - Dave Barry

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    154
    tried all of that, but when i put in my cable modem cd to configure, it says you do not have a NIC card.......but i just bought it and its connected

  5. #5
    Regal Making Handler
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,668
    Was your old pc running win xp????
    What happens if a big asteroid hits the Earth? Judging from realistic simulations involving a sledge hammer and a common laboratory frog, we can assume it will be pretty bad. - Dave Barry

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    154
    yep

  7. #7
    Regal Making Handler
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,668
    My best guess would be mac authentication then. Get intouch with your isp, and explane you have a new pc.
    What happens if a big asteroid hits the Earth? Judging from realistic simulations involving a sledge hammer and a common laboratory frog, we can assume it will be pretty bad. - Dave Barry

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    154
    lol just got off the phone with them and they are stumped, i have to call back to get an 'expert'

  9. #9
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    A few things I would try.

    1.Go to the control panel and check the device manager and see if there is a yellow exclamation mark where the Nic card is located.
    2.shutdown your computer and unplug the modem for about 30 seconds and then replug it in and then restart your computer
    3.Go to your internet options and make sure Never dial a connection is selected.

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    154
    yeah ive tried all of that, thanks tho

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •