Domain login
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Domain login

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747

    Domain login

    Just setting up a Windows Server 2003 AD domain right now and I'm having one problem.

    WHen client logs onto the domain, it takes a pretty good while for the machine to get past the "applyng personal settings" part.

    All the clients are XP pro 2.8ghz processor and 512MB ram.
    Server is WIndows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition, 1 2.4ghz xeon, 1GB ram (2GB by wednesday), all of them connected to a 24 port linkys switch. THeres only 6 computers on right now.

    Any ideas on what I can do to speed up the login process so it doesn't take 5 minutes to log in?
    =

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    421
    Hi,

    Do your users use ISP DNS or do they point to the server for DNS resolution?
    I have seen when workstations are not setup to use the server for name resolution, the login can be delayed.

    SGS

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    As it is right now, all clients get their DNS automatically from the DHCP server which is currently a Cisco Pix 501 firewall.
    =

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    421
    DHCP eh...

    Does ipconfig /all tell us they are not using the new ad server as the primary dns server?

    Try hard coding the ad server IP as the primary dns and see if login is faster.

    If so maybe you can edit the PIX to offer the server IP as the primary..??

  5. #5
    Senior Member kr5kernel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    347
    If using roaming profiles, you may want to change the group policy on certain directories and limit the size of profiles. I have seen people who had literally gigs of information in their documents folder that would syncronize upon login and log off. Check that, its often the simple things....
    kr5kernel
    (kr5kernel at hotmail dot com)
    Linux: Making Penguins Cool Since 1994.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,130
    huge roaming profile perhaps?
    Meu sítio

    FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Your were right, changin the DNS servers to the server on our LAN with the AD on now lets the computers get on withing 10 seconds. Thanks
    =

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    421
    If you need ISP DNS you can start the WINS server and have your users point to it.
    Then you can keep your DNS set to your ISP.

    Cheers,

    SGS

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Don't think I'm gonna need to do that. Its looking up sites just fine. Besides I coudl always just put my ISP's DNS servers in a forward lookup zone right?
    =

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    421
    Originally posted here by cheyenne1212
    Don't think I'm gonna need to do that. Its looking up sites just fine. Besides I coudl always just put my ISP's DNS servers in a forward lookup zone right?
    Yes forwarders is the way to go if you have that need.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •